eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Where has eBent Been?

with 9 comments

The good news is that eBent/Roland is doing really well. He’s lost 50 pounds and is cycling more than ever. The bad news is that after losing 50 pounds he’s gone back to the dark side and is riding a diamond frame again and loving it.

I was burnt out on recumbent cycling and riding the diamond frame has reignited my interest. Riding is fun again. We all need change to keep the fun in cycling alive. I purchased a Surly Long Haul Trucker and am planning Spring and Summer tours now.

Hope everyone had a great Holliday and is looking forward to spring riding. Right now I am on the elliptical machine at the gym and trying to stay in shape.

I am in a bit of a quandary on what to do with eBent. I want to keep talking about touring and bicycling but don’t feel comfortable talking about recumbent cycling if I am not riding a recumbent. I do have over 10 years of recumbent touring experience that I enjoy sharing but it feels less fresh every day.  I am thinking of taking eBent in a more general Touring direction. I still have 5 recumbent bicycle  2 Ryan Vanguards, a Longbikes Slipstream, a Bike Friday Sat-R Day and a BikeE Fx and expect to keep some but not all of them. So Recumbent cycling still has a special place in my heart.

Written by Roland

December 29, 2009 at 10:14 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its great to see you cycling! I enjoy reading about the touring stuff! So keep the blog going! But what is the secret to the oolong tea? I have been waiting for you to finish your posts on losing the weight and about the TEA? so …
    Larry in Leduc

    Larry Hager

    December 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm

  2. That is wonderful news. Larry and I agree. Keep the blog going. We all enjoy the touring reports even if you have crossed to the dark side. Everything I have heard about the Surly LHT has been positive.
    I have only lost 25 lbs; but, that is not bad as I am not working at it. Slowly changing my eating habits seems to be working for me.

    Charles

    January 4, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  3. I’m often between DF and bent and when I’m on one makes me hungry for the other. Whatever keeps you moving. Enjoyed checking your site for touring info.
    Keep giving the weight loss secrets!

    Michael

    January 17, 2010 at 4:06 am

  4. Roland,

    Congratulations on the major weight loss. You look very svelte. It must have done wonders for your blood sugar, cholesterol, and blood pressure readings.

    Recumbent or DF…it doesn’t matter to me. You always have something interesting to write about touring — so keep writing!

    Best wishes and continued good health!

    Longfellow

    January 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  5. Roland,

    Your weight loss is fantastic! I agree with Michael – “whatever keeps you moving.” My wife and I ride a BikeE E2 tandem so if you decide to part with your FX please consider contacting me at nebbesen at trane.com. Keep up the great writing.

    Nels Ebbesen

    January 21, 2010 at 1:34 pm

  6. I am definitely going to trim down the fleet this Spring and the Fx will be the first to go. I need to get space in my garage to work on my bikes :)

    Roland

    January 26, 2010 at 10:26 am

  7. Just found your site, congrats on the weight loss. As are most people, I’m working on losing some weight, but in the 20# range.

    If you ever think of selling the Slipstream I would be interested. I’m working with Greg Peek right now on a custom Jetstream tandem, should be here soon (but have been hearing that for a while now :) ). Hate to think about ordering a Slipstream and going through another wait period.

    Dan Kildea

    February 16, 2010 at 10:27 am

  8. Sorry Dan, no plans to sell my slipstream. Good luck with the JetStream, that baby should fly.

    Roland

    March 25, 2010 at 2:12 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

