eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Favorite Bicycling Cap

with 2 comments

Race day Cap

I think I may have discovered the best cycling cap available. For most of you a helmet is enough but for those of us who need sun protection in a vented helmet the right cap is important.

The Headsweats Race Cap has everything I've been looking for in a under helmet cap. It has a soft skin friendly feel and mesh construction that breathes well and feels good. It is made from CoolMax and has a CoolMax Terry Band that keeps the sweat out of your eyes on warm days. This material doesn't feel like any CoolMax I've ever encountered before. It has a very light soft mesh, breathable feel, not at all like the the plastic bag feel I have come to associate with CoolMax. CoolMax is not hydroscoptic so it won't hold moisture and get heavy as you ride and it dries quickly.

This Cap is lighter, softer and breathes better that the Patagonia Running Cap that I have been using. It has a short bill that protects your eyes from rain and glare and an adjustable clip in the back. The clip is small and you can't feel it with your helmet on. I like the ability to open the clip and use it to attach the hat to my helmet or bike when I take it off.

Great hat, highly recommended. You can find on the web at Amazon.com or Bike Nashbar for about $17.

Written by Roland

March 24, 2006 at 5:27 pm

Posted in Equipment

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also wear a cap under my helment while riding my bent. I was surprised to find the generic polyester ball cap I had lying around the house works just fine. It’s made of a lightweight mesh, which is probably why it never bothers me. even on hot days or when I begin to sweat.

    I would definitely advise trying a generic ball cap if you happen to have one around the house like I did.

    Here’s a photo of my with the hat, although I’m also wearing a fleece headband under it– it was a cold morning!

    http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=88406514&size=l

    Mark

    Mark Stosberg

    January 2, 2007 at 8:58 pm

  2. I agree Mark and that is where I started. I just like Headsweats caps better. They have a shorter brim that is big enough to provide plenty of shade plus they are much softer than a regular ball cap. That may not mean much to you folks with hair but for those of us who are hair challenged it is a real plus. I am also a heavy sweater so the soft absorbent band keeps the sweat out of my eyes.

    But if a ball caps works … go for it. If not, what did you lose.

    Roland

    September 8, 2009 at 11:10 am


Leave a Reply

