eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

An Inexpensive Trip to Croatia

with 7 comments

Dubrovnik

I am going back to Croatia again in August and made a great discovery. There is an inexpensive way to get to Dubrovnik (at least less expensive). I’m saving $600 by flying to Ireland and taking the 99 euro Aer Lingus shuttle to Dubrovnik. Plus I get to spend a night or two in Dublin, not bad. The best price on Orbitz is $1523 leaving from Boston with stops in Philadelphia and Franfurt. My fare with a stop in Dublin is about $800 with taxes using an American Airlines ticket I bought in January and the Aer Lingus Shuttle.


Split
I love touring in Croatia take a look at e-bent.com for some pictures from my last trip. Dubrovinik is a beautiful walled city and Split has Diocletian’s Palace, the last remaining Roman Palace, plus 8th century churches nearby and good wine. Did I mention a beautiful warm blue sea and nude beaches? This is great and inexpensive touring. Go now the prices are going up 15% per year but you can still get a room in Dubrovnik for $30 per night.

Oh, I forgot to mention the Palm Trees, the Gellato Stands and the Side Walk Cafes. I changed my mind, you won’t like it.

Update 7/18/07 – Looks like shuttle runs on Tues, Thurs, and Sat. until Oct. 26 – lowest one way fare I see is 80 Euro. The Aer Lingus site is not the easiest but it works.

Written by Roland

April 17, 2006 at 7:13 am

Posted in Hot Buys

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stumbled across this page looking for info on Croatia…if anyone is till out there—how far a trip from Dubrovinik to Split. It seems the best flight deals I can find land in Split, but many travel pages say the area is overcrowded in July (the only time I can go). Any advice?

    Gene

    May 11, 2007 at 11:45 am

  2. There are few folks here. Today the site hit a milestone, 60,000 visits. You can see the current count on the front page.

    If you are thinking of going to Croatia, I strongly suggest you look at a map. The best maps are from Germany if you are thinking of buying one.

    Your questions are not clear (I assume you will be traveling by bike), but let’s see if I can help you with what you want to know.

    Dubrovnik to Split is and easy boat ride or leisurely drive. Boat is by far the most interesting way to go. I don’t recommend riding the shore road between Dubrovnik and Split by bicycle. Plan on two days by bicycle.

    Split is a busy city but the waterfront tourist area is not particularly busy in July. There are lines at the palace but no major crowds by French or Italian standards.

    Dubrovnik is busy but not overwhelmingly so, particularly at night. This is a charming place to roam at night. The nights are warm and pleasant in July. Walking the walls doesn’t really get busy even in the days. If you have been to Carcasonne, this is the real thing and no where near as busy.

    Go now, don’t wait. This is an amazing area, don’t wait for it to be spoiled.

    You don’t say where you are leaving from, but the summer shuttle from Ireland to Dubrovnik is hard to beat on price. Make sure you check July prices and check by day of week. I don’t think the shuttle leaves every day.

    Bus travel is inexpensive and very comfortable in Croatia. So getting around is quite easy and distances along the coast are not long. At the end of our tour, we rode up to Venice. So it is also easy to tie in a visit to Italy. One alternative is to fly to Rome and take the ferry to Split or Dubrovnik.

    Roland

    May 11, 2007 at 3:18 pm

  3. beautiful

    Pan

    March 6, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  4. Came across your site while looking at pics of Split. I was frustrated all day looking up flights and now, thanks to your ingenious discovery, I am on my way this summer. You ROCK! Thanks!

    Julia

    January 25, 2010 at 1:51 am

  5. Julia, have a great trip. I hope I can be there in September with my wife. She really wants to go and I’d love to go again.

    Let me know if you’d like some travel suggestions.

    Roland

    Roland

    January 26, 2010 at 10:31 am

  6. good focus , search this from blogsearch plus good luck for you.just adjoin the rss feed toward my reader,keep bring up to date!promzzz

    Fredrick Holzerland

    August 27, 2010 at 10:59 pm

  7. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

    Jesse Issacs

    April 15, 2011 at 5:46 pm


Leave a Reply

