eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Fixing the Slipstrean Kickstand

with 8 comments

kickstand_turn_web.jpg

Update: 4/9/08 – see SlipStream Kick Stand Fix Installed

I love the kickstand on my Longbikes Slipstream. It is like having a built in workstand and much better than the kickstand on a Vanguard. But the kickstand didn’t like staying in place after using it a few times it would turn as shown in the picture.

The fix is an easy one. Just add a piece of rubber gasket material between the the kickstand and the frame. You will have to make a hole in the center of the rubber piece for the mounting screw. Just cut out the piece the size of the kickstand top with an Exacto knife and make a square hole in the center of the rubber piece. A small sheet of rubber gasket material from the plumbing section of your local hardware store works great.

kickstand_web.jpg

With the rubber gasket in place your kickstand will not turn.

Written by Roland

May 19, 2006 at 4:30 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve just purchased my first recumbent – the Slipstream – and I’ve ordered the kickstand straight from the company – they are recommending drilling a “5mm” hole in the stand to stop the rotation – your idea seems better than drilling and so I was wondering how the gasket was holding up under use?
    Thanks

    Rob

    August 19, 2006 at 12:59 pm

  2. What do you do after you drill the hole? I don’t recall anything that would snap into that hole. Are they suggesting adding a pin? A 5 mm pin might make a mess of your frame if the metal around it bends under load. A bike loaded for touring puts a lot of force on the kickstand becase of the length of the lever arm created by the kickstand arms. I’d like to set the drawing for that. It sounds marginal to me.

    The gasket works fine for everyday riding but is marginal when fully loaded for self contained touring. The kickstand can turn even with the gasket when putting the bike on the stand if everything isn’t straight. I had to retighten the kickstand several times during my July tour.

    They have a design issue and seem to have ignored it. At least you got a reply, they just ignored my notes. It sounds like they have moved past denial but don’t have a solid fix yet. I’d go slow on drilling holes in the frame of my bike. What you really buy when you buy a bike is a frame. The parts will be replaced over time but it is the frame that should last. You doubts about drilling a hole in the frame sound pretty solid to me.

    I have run a machine shop in the past and the mentality in that environment is different than mine. They beleive they can fix anything and if the first fix doesn’t work they will come up with something else. I suspect they may not have done a lot of testing on the fix yet. Welding and painting a frame is no big deal to them, they do it all of the time. But I might not want to be the Beta Tester on a new fix on my nike.

    These guys are pretty good and I expect they will fix the problem in the future. The question is what do owners like us do and will that future fix work for us also.

    An aside:
    Did the screws on your brake levers rub you hand? I wound up reversing the side they are screwed in from.

    Roland

    August 19, 2006 at 1:12 pm

  3. I’ve asked in my email to the company to please include some instructions about this “drilling” – it does seem just for the kickstand and not the frame – I’m waiting to hear from them. I’ve not done any touring yet since I’ve only had the bike for about three weeks. Am working up to more miles as I become more comfortable with this “new” way to ride. I did 55 miles on Thursday and felt fully vindicated that this was the right bike for me. Got off the bike and felt great. I toured quite a bit using a conventional bike and my goal – and doctor’s orders – are to get back into longer rides. I really just need to use the kickstand for these short daily rides for now. I’ve always been a pannier person but I’m looking into a BOB trailer for future tours and it seems that they really assist in acting as a kickstand in and of themselves. So far now issues with the break levers. Thanks for your response.

    Rob

    August 19, 2006 at 7:30 pm

  4. I have used a trailer for touring quite a bit but I am not a Bob Fan. I have seen too may people have problems on steep descents with Bobs. They have a tendency to come around.

    A Bob is great for single tracking like we did in Croatia. They only paved over the telephone line. But I prefer trailers like the BicycleR Evolution (http://www.bikerev.com/). They have parallel wheels and follow better. Plus the case on the BicycleR Evolution is waterproof, can be locked and is very easy to load. They also have great wheels and are about $100 cheaper.

    Remember a Slipstream with a trailer is an awesome thing. The bike is 74 inches long, add 3 feet of trailer and you have a very long beast.

    I have gone both ways trailers and panniers, Right now I am in a pannier phase but that could change. Here’s my thinking on Trailers.

    Some bikes need trailers because they can’t handle the load, the Slipstream is not one of those, although I think the rear wheel is marginal for loaded touring. I blew 2 drive side spokes on my first day of loaded touring. I then replaced the wheel with a Mavic and have had no problems since.

    A trailer adds 15 pounds to the load you have to pull up hills. So if the route has a lot of climbing, I don’t take a trailer. But local tours with Jeanne along the seacoast, I almost always use a trailer.

    Roland

    August 21, 2006 at 7:56 am

  5. Hey Roland great blog you’ve got here. Just thought I’d drop you a note about what I saw on http://www.longbikes.com dated July 17th, 2007:

    “Slipstream owners, if you have had problems with your ESGE 2 leg kickstand not staying tight to the frame, I finally made some reinforcing adapters which beef up the kickstand bridge and eliminate the problem of the kickstand rotating. We will have a small quantity on the shelf in a few days when they come back from anodizing. If you need or want to upgrade to these, drop me a note and we can get them to you. I will determine the price and get photos on the site sometime later this week”

    Justin

    August 3, 2007 at 7:24 pm

  6. Justin, thanks for the posting. I definitely want the parts.

    Roland

    August 5, 2007 at 10:43 pm

  7. I received the new kickstand bracket yesterday. It’s pretty solid; I think Greg did a nice job on it. Once it’s tightened down there’s no way the kickstand can rotate around, and it adds a lot of strength to the mount.

    Clark

    August 8, 2007 at 12:03 am

  8. […] from Fixing the SlipStream Kick Stand and SlipStream Kick Stand […]


Leave a Reply

