eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

What Type of Valve to Use for Touring – Schrader or Presta

with 9 comments

valveprc.gif valvesch.gif

Presta Valve ————- Schrader Valve

Here are a mix of feelings and observations. They probably won’t change your mind if you already have strong feelings.

On the road, it is much easier to find a pump that works with schrader valves than prestas. If you are stuck and have schrader valves you can always go to a gas station and very carefully inflate your tires. If you have prestas, you will need to find a bike shop or another rider with a presta pump. For example, in Newfoundland there are gas stations every 60 miles but about 500 miles between bike shops.

My feeling was that I had more problems with presta tubes than schrader tubes when I used prestas. They just seemed to be less sturdy. Other long distance riders I have talked with have the same feeling. This isn’t proof it is just my perception.

Yes, prestas can be easier to inflate and may have stronger rims. If you ride mostly near your home or with groups make your choice.

But there doesn’t seem to be enough of a practical advantage with prestas to off set the disadvantages for the long distance rider.

References: See Presta Tube Warning 

Written by Roland

May 19, 2006 at 8:39 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Opinion – What type of valve to use for touring

    Opinion on what type of valve stem is the best for touring.

    Anonymous

    May 21, 2006 at 10:03 am

  2. My new bike pump has already proven me wrong. It has a screw on adapter that depresses the schrader valve spring eliminating the presta advantage when pumping. The pump is an Air Revoultion see, https://ebent.wordpress.com/2006/05/17/a-bike-pump-that-really-works/

    ebent

    May 29, 2006 at 4:31 pm

  3. […] If you are running a narrow 26″ tire don’t make the mistake of using too big a tube. If the tube is too big you will have a hard time preventing pinch flats when you replace the tube on the road. The right tube may be hard to find but here is a list of places where you can find them – 26X1.25 and 26X1.5 tubes. Don’t worry about brand very much, there aren’t many places makes these tubes but there are a lot of different boxes. I recommend Schrader valves for touring (see What Type of Valve to Use for Touring – Schrader or Presta). […]

  4. I’m not sure about this.
    I doubt that rim strength difference is significant but a presta is very easy to get to high pressure with a hand pump. A schrader isn’t.
    A small brass collar can be screwed onto a presta to allow a garage pump to fit. I carry two pumps anyway. No way would I think 60 miles between petrol station air pumps a reasonable distance to go to get my tyre at the correct pressure.
    Overall, as I expect to be hand pumping, and because I can adapt it for garage pumps, I choose presta.
    Love this blog. I’ve only just discovered it having bought a Ran clone lwb recumbent recently.
    Cheers

    dexey

    April 28, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    • Hi, do you know the part # of the adapter for the presta valve to be able to use a schrader type pump?

      I’ve been looking around and can’t seem to locate one.

      Cheers,

      steve

      July 4, 2010 at 9:20 am

  5. dexey glad you enjoy. We’ll just have to disagree on tubes but I’ve always said the only times you get agreement is when people aren’t interested.

    What really soured me on Prestas were the batches of bad tubes that Michelin produced about the time I started self contained touring with a friend in Georgia during the winter. I had used only Prestas on my diamond frames for years for the reasons you cited. But for several years, the Presta valves would pull out of the tubes at the worst possible times. Taking the usual precautions didn’t help. One tube would be good and the next one would fail quickly.

    Please bring up questions for discussion as you run into them. We may not agree but there is always something to lean in civil discussion.

    Roland

    April 30, 2008 at 2:44 pm

  6. I like the valuable info you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again here frequently. I’m fairly certain I will be told plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    cosmetica natural

    April 15, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  7. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

