eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Touring Equipment List

with 2 comments

HPVev1small.gif

This is the equipment list I made up a few years ago for for Touring with my Ryan Vanguard. It inclued some special tools needed to make common adjustments on the Vanguard.

Vanguard Equipment List

Here's my new list updated for riding in the Northwest on a Longbikes Slipstream in 2006,

Slipstream Equipment List

The biggest changes are updating technology, eliminating SAE Allen wrenches, and self sealing tubes for riding in thorn country.

Written by Roland

June 10, 2006 at 10:46 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roland, do you use a cycle computer in your travels? If so, what kind? I have gone through a number of them and am looking for another. It must have cadence. An altimeter would be nice as an extra gadget. Barometric altimeters aren’t very accurate but still, it would be interesting. I’m looking at the Vetta V110A with the cadence kit.

    Longfellow

    June 17, 2006 at 11:53 am

  2. I can not ride without a bike computer. It drives me crazy when I don’t know how far and how fast.

    I have used quite a few over the years but now use my Garmin 60c GPS as the bike computer on all of my bikes. It is my favorite bike computer of all time.

    I used Catseye and Sigmas with cadence for years on my diamond frames and it really improved my cycling. I haven’t found any computers with cadence that fit a LWB recumbent. I’m not saying there aren’t any but the few I tried never had wires long enough to work on my Vanguard.

    I used a wired version of the Toppeak Panorama before the GPS and liked it a lot. Nice easy to read digits.

    I have played a lot with Altimeters and never had any luck getting them to work properly. The GPS data is the only approach that has ever worked for me. I won’t argue that it is extremely accurate but it is good enough and gives great profiles.

    I am also pretty cynical about wireless computers on LWB recumbents. I have tried about 6 and none have worked on my Vanguard reliably. The distance from the transmitter is usually limited to about 2 1/2 feet so they don’t interfere with heart monitors. That isn’t quite enough on a LWB.

    Good luck … Roland

    ebent

    June 17, 2006 at 3:59 pm


Leave a Reply

