eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

The Coffin – A Shipping Case for a LWB Recumbent

with 4 comments

Bike Pro USA Tandem Case

I have been searching for a shipping case for my Longbikes Slipstream. The issue is length, the Slipstream is a little longer than most tandems. I think I have the answer but won’t be sure until the bike is packed and ready to go.


The best option looks like the Bike Pro USA Tandem Case. Its inside dimensions are 28 X 69 X 11. Height and width are no problem. The seat comes off of the Slipstream and folds solving the eternal Ryan Vanguard problem. The steering bar is also easily removed so that the front fork can be reversed reducing overall length.

Here’s my logic on how to fit the Slipstream into 69″ length of the case.

1. Slipstream Length – 74″

2. with front fork reversed – 72 1/2 ”

3. remove disc brake – 70 ”

4. Remove rear triangle – 67″

Yes, this is a pain in the ass. I’d like to just take off the seat and bar and slip it into a case, but I haven’t been able to find a case that long so this is the best solution I’ve found so far.

I’ll update this with pictures after the bike is packed into the case.

Here’s wishing me luck … smile.

See follow on Post, “Filling The Coffin” for what happens.

Written by Roland

June 19, 2006 at 7:26 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been looking for a case as well. Yours would not work for an extra-long Slipstream frame unless it had S & S couplings. Have you ever considered having a specially-designed bicycle case made? Although it may be expensive at first, the easier packing would certainly make it worthwhile over time…especially if you’re doing several trips involving air travel in a year.

    Longfellow

    June 19, 2006 at 11:37 am

  2. This case is very big and fairly expensive.

    I did a little checking on custom cases but what I found was not very encouraging. Not many people make custom cases bigger than this and the price was over a $1000.

    ebent

    June 19, 2006 at 12:15 pm

  3. Anonymous

    June 28, 2006 at 6:15 am

  4. Give me an old cool bicycle, and I’ll ride around the city for days.

    Retro Bicycles

    October 23, 2007 at 3:41 pm


Leave a Reply

