eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Hot Buy-Crank Brothers Eggbeater SL Pedal-Updated 9/16/2006

with 3 comments

pedcrk_egg_sl.jpg
Bike Smart Sierra Trading Post is selling the 2005 version of the Crank Brothers Eggbeater SL Pedal for $79 47.96 (new price found 8/25/2006) $60 (new price 9/16/2006). These pedals usually sell for well over $100 ($120 List). Yes, they are the 2005 version not the 2006 version with blue high lights, but they otherwise look the same to me. I bought a pair for my Sat-R Day ( I wish I’d seen the $48 price before I ordered), that’s how good that price is. You can find them at Sierra Trading Post.


The Word in the Forums is don’t buy the cheaper Cr-Mo version of these pedals, lots of reported failures, but the stainless version seems to be bullet proof. Folks who use them seem to love them. I’ll let you know after I try them for a while. I stopped using Clipless Pedals after many problems with Shimano SPDs (I don’t understand why there was never a product recall on them). I had good luck with the Times I used before the Shimanos but the pedals became obsolete and I could no longer get cleats.

Here’s the Sales Pitch on these Pedals from the Bike Smart Web Site, their words not mine.

=================== For Info Only==============

The Crank Brothers Egg Beater SL pedals have a minimalist design that offers riders a light weight and strong pedal that excels in all conditions including mud. The four sided entry design makes getting in and out of these pedals a snap. While the pedals were designed for mountain bikers, they have proved so successful that even road-specific riders can be found with Egg Beater Pedals on their bikes.

*Please note though, if you’d like to use them on road shoes, you’ll need to buy a set of Crank Brothers Road Cleats. They have pontoons on the sides of the cleat for pedal/shoe contact and stability. They also provide traction when walking.

* Stainless Steel Spindle
* Fully re-buildable and simple to maintain
* Mud shedding design

Written by Roland

August 22, 2006 at 5:02 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hot Buy on Eggbeater Pedals

    Great Price on Crank Brothers Eggbeater SL Pedals, $79.

    crankk.com

    August 22, 2006 at 5:08 pm

  2. i have some of the cromo ones and they seem to be going well, however i do have some doubts about them as they look a bit “soft”. the steel oneslook good for the price though, i wonder if the sale price can be found in the UK?

    peakdistrictcycling

    August 22, 2006 at 6:43 pm

  3. Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

    vicp

    January 14, 2009 at 9:21 pm


Leave a Reply

