eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Archive for September 6th, 2006

Alert -MKS Touring Pedals

with 8 comments

mks-touring.jpg

I have used MKS Touring Pedals many times since I started bicycle touring in 1980 and like the width and finish of the pedals. But I have returned the last 2 sets I purchased from Harris Cyclery and stopped using these pedals. The left pedal bound up after lest than 3 weeks of riding on both sets.

By the way, Harris Cyclery was as always great about the return and had no problem swapping the MKS for Wellgos

On both pedal sets MKS has failed to grease the left pedal. Yes, these pedals are serviceable but I no longer have the spare ball bearing (I always seem to lose a bearing or two while service a pedal) nor the inclination to service a $30 pedal set.

I have reluctantly returned to Wellgos that are heavier, not as smooth and not as wide as the MKS Touring Pedals.

Yes, after riding the Wellgos for a month I am thinking of buying another set of MKS Touring Pedals and some ball bearings but think I’ll wait until winter when a pedal service job doesn’t seem so annoying.

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topicĀ 

Written by Roland

September 6, 2006 at 9:10 am

Posted in Pedals and Shoes