eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Alert -MKS Touring Pedals

with 8 comments

mks-touring.jpg

I have used MKS Touring Pedals many times since I started bicycle touring in 1980 and like the width and finish of the pedals. But I have returned the last 2 sets I purchased from Harris Cyclery and stopped using these pedals. The left pedal bound up after lest than 3 weeks of riding on both sets.

By the way, Harris Cyclery was as always great about the return and had no problem swapping the MKS for Wellgos

On both pedal sets MKS has failed to grease the left pedal. Yes, these pedals are serviceable but I no longer have the spare ball bearing (I always seem to lose a bearing or two while service a pedal) nor the inclination to service a $30 pedal set.

I have reluctantly returned to Wellgos that are heavier, not as smooth and not as wide as the MKS Touring Pedals.

Yes, after riding the Wellgos for a month I am thinking of buying another set of MKS Touring Pedals and some ball bearings but think I’ll wait until winter when a pedal service job doesn’t seem so annoying.

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topic 

Written by Roland

September 6, 2006 at 9:10 am

Posted in Pedals and Shoes

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alert – MKS Touring Pedals

    I have had 2 sets of MKS Touring Pedals bind up after less than 3 weeks of riding. MKS has apparently stopped greasing the left pedal on the Touring Pedal Sets.

    crankk.com

    September 6, 2006 at 9:15 am

  2. I just saw the article on the grease being left out on the MKS touring pedals.You must be really brain dead.How long do you think it would take a person to take off the dust cap and grease the pedal? Have you ever heard of a coffee can to put the bearings in?
    I would be more inclined to rebuild this pedal than spend the money to send it back.That is just plain LAZY.

    Bill Peck

    May 14, 2007 at 5:34 pm

  3. Bill, you are putting me on right?

    I spent 20 years rebuilding pedals but did my last one in the 80’s. I don’t plan on doing anymore. You can’t even buy ball bearing from most bike web sites anymore. Rebuilding pedals is both boring and a PITA. I like to spend my time riding not fixing manufacturers screw ups.

    But seriously, while I was a Product Service Manager for a major US Corporation, I leaned that your best customers take the time to return things because they want you to do it right and are willing to invest their time so you will understand what is wrong with your products. I like MKS pedals and I want them to do it right.

    Plus, it is not worth my time to screw with bad pedals. This isn’t the 70’s and we don’t accept bad quality as being OK anymore.

    Roland

    May 14, 2007 at 9:00 pm

  4. Thanks for the alert. Guess I should have read for service issues BEFORE I bought my set of ungreased lefty MKS tour pedals, but at least I saw this and was able to break my set open after noticing the bearings pinging on the first ride. Guess I should have returned mine too, but fixing pedals is slightly less of a pain than dealing with returns and waiting for new ones to show up.

    dave

    June 17, 2007 at 8:36 pm

  5. How does one get the dust caps off? The knurled edge seems to suggest a screw thread, but maybe the knurling is just decoration.

    I don’t want to do what the wrench at Niagara Bike (vendor) suggested: brute-force them off with a screwdriver.

    Mairead

    August 4, 2008 at 12:40 pm

  6. Mine had a screw off cap that I grabbed with pliers.

    Roland

    August 6, 2008 at 10:47 am

  7. Don’t bother buying these pedals without the dust cap wrench, or a method to get the dust cap off. They are ridiculously under-greased from the factory. The first thing I did was take them apart, cleaned out whatever (old, brown) grease was in there, and regreased the bearings very liberally. Once you do that though, they’re very smooth and solid.

    I don’t blame you for not wanting to service brand new pedals out of the box. But, I can’t seeing these pedals lasting otherwise. Plus the bearing preload was a bit tight from the factory. Also to be honest I find most components are undergreased from the factory (Shimano hubs) so I’m kinda used to this.

    Dave

    May 9, 2009 at 12:25 am

  8. MKS has a tool you can buy to pop off the dust cap. I have used 3 of these pedals for over 5 years and have never had a problem whatsoever. Hopefully what you experienced was fairly isolated.

    Dave

    August 4, 2009 at 7:35 pm


Leave a Reply

