eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Giving Clipless Another Chance

with 2 comments

pedcrk_egg_sl.jpgsh-mt20d.gif

I haven’t used clipless pedals for about 10 years. I never really liked SPDs (I can’t beleive Shamino never had a Product Liability Issue with their SPDs) but had good luck with Time Clipless Pedals. But when I started self contained touring in the mountains it became obvious that the risk of a fall just washed out the benefits. Plus my toes needed to self actualize in sandals. (Why I don’t use clipless pedals)

I still would not recommend clipless pedals for self contained touring but I am suffering the post tour blahs and need to do something to bring the spark back. I am in the post tour riding slow mode and though trying clipless pedals might help to get me out of it. I think they might be fun for local riding, we will see. Plus I had trouble resisting that great price on the eggbeaters and the sale price on the shoes.


So my eggbeaters and and Shimano MT20Ds have arrived. So far, I have some done a little riding around the neighborhood to break them in. The eggbeaters were fairly stiff when I first tried inserting into them but as the instructions predicted they seem to be freeing up after a few insertions.

I also seem to have the Flu and despite the great weather haven’t been out for a few days. I am hoping to give them their first real test tomorrow.

See First Impressions for the follow on to this post.

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topic 

Written by Roland

September 8, 2006 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Pedals and Shoes, Rant

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Giving Clipless Pedals Another Try  […]

  2. […] Note: This is a continuation of my previous post Giving Clipless Another Chance. You may need to read that post for background details. […]


Leave a Reply

