eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Giving up on Shimano MT-20D Shoes

with 2 comments

ball2.jpg

Note: This part 4 of a series of posts. The previous post was “2nd Ride with Eggbeaters and Shimano Shoes“.

After wearing the shoes walking today for about 20 minutes, my feet were too sore to ride. This is too much, I am done with these shoes.

Am I the only person having trouble finding comfortable bike shoes?

Today I tried High Impact Insoles and Ball-of-Foot Cushions but nothing helps. These shoes are just uncomfortable on my feet. So I went out to the bike shops to try different shoes.


Here is what I found:

1. They believe that Shimano makes the widest shoes except for the Sidi Megas that are very wide.

2. I have a narrow foot

3. I need a very deep toe box. My feet are nerrow but my toes are thick. This is why the shoes don’t fit.

4. No one had shoes big enought for my feet.

Thesw Sjhimano MT-20D shoes look nice and are well made but hurt my Industrial Hobbit feet. So, it is back to PowerGrips while I keep looking at shoes. I will need shoes before the first snow.

By the way: If yoor shoe seems to fit but the cleats still hurt your feet, you might try these Gel Pads. For $5, they seemed to help.

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topic 

Written by Roland

September 12, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Posted in Pedals and Shoes

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Note: This part 5 of a series of posts. The previous post was “Giving up on Shimano MT-20D Shoes“. […]

  2. And some more..
    *

    Lee_ck

    August 19, 2007 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

