eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Garmin City Navigator v8 Maps now work on both 2610 and 60c Series

with one comment

pt-citynavcd.jpg

I knew this was too good to be true, see link at end of article to “Garmin Maps – Big Price Increase”.

Good news if you are a Garmin Map user. City Navigator V8 has much smaller map sections than before.

This means you can use City Navigator v8 maps on Garmin GPS units with smaller memories and get more details than you got with Garmin City Select Maps. Plus if you own two units you now only have to update one map set each year, a $70 a year savings.


If you own a car and a handheld unit, now you only have to update one Map Set each year instead of two. City Navigator will handle all of your needs and you will have more details on your handheld. This is win-win for me.

I have a Garmin 2610 in my car and needed City Navigator Maps for it. I use a Garmin 60cs as my bike computer and needed Garmin City Select Maps for it. So that was $140 for map updates each year.

I am hooked and need my new maps each year. The good news was that City Navigator v8 was released before City Slect v8 and I noticed that the maps sections are much smaller in v8. I could see that they would work fine in my 60cs. So I sent Garmin Support a note and discovered in their reply, that each map set can be used on two units. I just had to activate the 60cs on City Navigator.

Activating the second unit is an easy process if Garmin’s web site is up and running. They have been a making a lot of changes to the site and have had up time and functional problems during the transition.

Opps …. maybe I shouldn’t be telling you this. I don’t think Garmin has announced this change and if they lose half of their update revenue they may not be too happy.

Also see: Garmin Maps – Big Price Increase

Written by Roland

September 18, 2006 at 7:30 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do need for garmin 2610 a ‘maps update’.
    Thank You .
    Happy New Year.

    bjay

    January 7, 2010 at 8:07 am


Leave a Reply

