eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Alert – Air Revolution Pump Failure

with 9 comments

pump_stop.jpgYesterday, I had a worst case pump failure while riding the Franconia Notch Bike Trail. I noticed my rear tire seemed low. I had checked it before the start of the ride but things happen. When I put the pump nozzle on my tire, air started rapidly flowing out of the tire, the pressure relief button on the Air Revolution pump was stuck in the open position. I was not able to get the relief valve to close. So, I was stuck on the trail with a very low tire and a pump that will only let more air out of my tire.

I know I have raved about this pump in the past but this is a totally unacceptable failure. I bought the pump in the Spring and have used it less than 10 times.

My Rating for this Pump is now unacceptable.


Previous posts endorsing this pump:

A Bike Pump that Works

Bike Pump Update – Air Revolution Mini Foot Pump

Update 9/26/2006: I have analysed the pump failure and doubt that the pump can be repaired. The seal at the bottom of both cylinders failed and the cylinders are tilted with respect to the base. This must have happened when I was trying to inflate a tire on the road and the ground was not perfectly flat.

The pump cylinders do not appear to be well secured to the base and can be moved in the base. When the cylinder is tilted the seal at the bottom of each cylinder is broken. The construction does not appear to be sturdy enough to take the expected rigors of Bicycle Touring.

This is the second pump design from this manufacturer that looked good but is just not study enough for its intended application.

Written by Roland

September 19, 2006 at 7:25 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 9/19/2006 Update – Unaceptable Rating 8/2006 Update after July Tour […]

  2. […] 9/19/2006 Update – Unaceptable Rating In May I posted a review of my latest bike pump, the Mini Foot Pump Air Revolution and promised an update after my July Tour. […]

  3. In earlier posts you planned to purchase two additional pumps. What has your luck been with these? Do you feel it’s a design flaw or just bad QC? Based on your posts I almost ordered one…There’s another german pump I was considering that is held down by your foot, then a cord is yanked, not unlike starting a lawnmower.

    Now I might reconsider…revisit the “lawnmower pump”

    jorge

    September 19, 2006 at 10:53 pm

  4. jorge

    I am very, very disappointed. This is the second pump design from this German Company that looks great and worked well but just have the reliability that is needed for touring. I’ll update everyone when I hear back from the manufacturer.

    Enjoy The Ride … Roland

    Roland

    September 20, 2006 at 12:13 pm

  5. Roland,

    I use a Zefal frame-mount pump. Like most frame-mount pumps, it’s okay but has a lot of shortcomings. Pumping up high pressure tires is tough (especially when the wheel is still on the bike). I have even snapped off a tire’s valve while inflating it. I would love to take a floor pump with me if I could. I have now been looking at the Topeak Road Morph and the Turbo Morph. They both have a flexible hose that attaches to the valve and also have analog pressure guages. You use them like a floor pump even though they are carried like a frame-mount. Although I haven’t tried them yet, they seem to have good reviews from users: http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Pump/product_86619.shtml

    The only negative I have heard was from someone who said, “Don’t trust the guage.”

    Longfellow

    September 20, 2006 at 2:55 pm

  6. Longfellow

    I understand where you are at. I have a Road Morp and a Zephal XP. Both are acceptable pumps but neither is easy to pump a tire with.

    I can pump my 100 psi tires up enough to get home. But I can’t say that I am pleased with either pump. The Zepal is very reliable and the Top Peak is OK.

    The search for a great pump is on again.

    Roland

    September 20, 2006 at 7:59 pm

  7. Tale unlicensed contractors Number Three: ‘Skip the permit for your company has good
    overall interaction skills. Next, conduct a series of reforms, including time period totaled
    $250, 000.

    Heath

    June 18, 2014 at 6:45 am

  8. After sufficient lead generation live Testing and customer
    happiness. Homeowners insurance will include
    number of columns that are cost effective way to convert dynamic
    URLs into flat ones.

    seo for small business

    September 17, 2014 at 3:54 am

  9. Oxford Learning College is one of the population. This gives you a custom web design must include search engine.
    Throughout the entire layout of web design layouts
    is using the website goes live. But the most SEO friendly,
    highly sophisticated marketing methods that you are comfortable working with designers to
    enjoy the benefits and disadvantages to both.

    seo information

    September 17, 2014 at 4:04 am


Leave a Reply

