eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Bicycling Shoe Sizing Charts

with 14 comments

st_eric_fit_250.jpg

Here’s a great resource if you are looking for new bicycling shoes – Bicycle Shoe Sizing Chart. The nice thing about this chart is that it compares different shoe brands and shows how their sizing compares.

These charts can be helpful, but I highly recommend that you go to your Local Bike Shop and try shoes on before buying. The size is just one factors that will determine if the shoe fits you comfortably. Trying on shoes before you buy them will be one of the best time investments you make.

The Golden Shoe Rule: Never buy a pair of shoes that doesn’t feel good the first time you put them on.


A few other sizing charts:

Sidi Sizing Chart PDF

Shimano Shoe Sizing

Lake Shoe Sizing Chart

Nashbar Shoe Sizing Chart includes Lake, Vittoria, Adidias, Shimano, Sidi, Answer, and Pearl Izumi Note: Chart loads slow so be patient

Performance Shoe Sizing Chart even more shoe types than Nashbar, separate chart for women. Also links to glove and helmet sizing.

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topic

Written by Roland

September 30, 2006 at 7:49 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally concur with the try it on, before you buy. I bought some E-Bay bargan shoes that I felt would eventually stretch into shape. How wrong I was. Eventually I was diagnosed with a nueroma and only when buying properly fitted cylcling shoes did my riding become a joy once again. I ride with Sidi Wides, size 41, purchased at a local bike shop. Paul

    Paul_S

    October 3, 2006 at 10:51 am

  2. Thanks Paul, I don’t think most folks appreciate what a ill fitting shoe can do to your foot.

    Roland

    October 3, 2006 at 10:58 am

  3. The Internet has brought the world of shopping to the fingertips of just about everyone. Long gone are the days of

    driving from shop to shop, wasting precious time and petrol just to find that one particular item you’ve been searching

    for in the size you need. In this case, we’re referring to shoes.

    merrell shoe

    March 2, 2007 at 5:44 pm

  4. Cool! Nice shoes! I also got my cools shoes in here codes and coupons for zappos.
    Btw, Nice site!

    Ryan

    June 29, 2007 at 12:19 am

  5. This is great! Let me know if you’d like to link exchange!

    Elizabeth

    November 27, 2008 at 10:17 pm

  6. Merrell

    I have to disagree. It is worth the time to try on shoes before you buy them. There is nothing as uncomfortable as touring in a badly fitting bicycle shoe. It ruins your day and your foot.

    I buy shoes on line but only after I know that the shoe works for me. I learned that the hard way, I have a closet full of shoes I bought on line at great prices that I don’t wear because I don’t like the way they feel.

    I also think it is important to support our local bike shops. If we don’t buy from them they won’t be there.

    Roland

    Roland

    April 16, 2009 at 7:39 am

  7. Ive now been riding a bike for several months Im now ready to invest in a pair of Bike shoes,Im looking for a ladies pair where do I start, I wear a ladies size 10 medium, do you have catalogs you could mail out to me?

    Irene Dixon

    April 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    • I highly recommend going to local bike shops and trying shoes on first. The cuts vary more than for conventional shoes and sizing tends to run small. Keep trying on shoes until you find one that feels comfortable as soon as you put it on and fits well.

      Roland

      April 24, 2010 at 3:29 pm

  8. Do you know of any manufacturers that make an indoor spinning show for wide width women and if not, one that runs wide?

    Lynn

    October 4, 2010 at 7:17 am

    • Nike’s seem to be wider than the other brands on my feet.

      Roland

      October 5, 2010 at 3:03 am

  9. Oops, that should have said shoe not show.

    Lynn

    October 4, 2010 at 7:17 am

  10. Special cycling shoes with soles that disperse pressure onto the pedal and provided added grip to the pedal are also commonly worn. Running. When running or jogging, the…

    Cycling shoes ireland

    February 13, 2012 at 7:52 am

  11. Great post.

    Bernd

    July 9, 2013 at 10:05 am

  12. Very rɑpidly this web page will be famοus among aɑll blogǥing users, due to
    it’s good content

    Edna

    July 30, 2014 at 7:39 pm


Leave a Reply

