eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Doing My Stretches but Still Not Back

with 5 comments

332_f1.jpgThis hip problem is turning out to be more of a nagging problem than I expected. It has interfered with my ability to read and write, not just this Blog but everything. I am finding it very hard to concentrate.

The lesson to take away is don’t forget to stretch and let your hips and legs get as tight as I did. A few minutes a day can save you months of discomfort.

For me, it was the heel a few years ago and now the hip. I tend to push much harder with right leg because of knee surgery on the left leg. So it has been the right heel and hip that have been my problems. But stretching solved the heel problem and will eventually solve the hip problem. This one is taking much longer because I haven’t been able to reduce the swelling and the stretches continue to aggravate the problem.

For the heel I found just the right stretches on the web but that information appears to be gone now, but a visit to Physical Therapist will set you on the right path.

Again, for the hip I needed the help of a Physical Therapist. These stretches are more complex. But here we made the mistake of stating strengthening and stretching too soon so I am back at the begining of the cycle again.

These kinds of problems take time and patience to resolve, often 6 to 9 months for older folks like me. But the good news it that winter is just the right time to be in this process and I look forward to a pain free Spring.

Note: I did find a explanation of the heel stretch at: http://www.mckinley.uiuc.edu/Handouts/stretching_potential/stretching_potential.html

Written by Roland

January 20, 2007 at 7:34 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am sorry to hear that you hip problem continues. I am lazy with my stretching at times so I will take your advice and try to be more consistent. Mark is an avid cyclist and has stretches on his website. Don’t know if they will help you but here it is:

    http://www.howtostretch.com/

    Perry

    January 20, 2007 at 8:30 am

  2. Thanks Perry for the link and kind words. I plan to spend some time looking at that site.

    Roland

    January 20, 2007 at 8:44 am

  3. The iliotibial band stretch is a key one to prevent the hip problem I am dealing with. Mark’s stretches look very good but do not include the stretch to prevent heel problems.

    Take a look at the heel stretch shown on this page,

    http://www.mckinley.uiuc.edu/Handouts/stretching_potential/stretching_potential.html

    , it has worked for me.

    Roland

    January 20, 2007 at 8:59 am

  4. Roland,

    Thanks for the link! Yes, I do that heel stretch myself and it really helps my calves. I have a routine that takes about 20-30 mins and when done consistently, my body really feels better.

    BTW, I want to compliment you for using such nice, readable type on your blog. It makes it a pleasure to read. I know that I can enlarge the type with my browser if need be but I think it’s better if it’s a reasonable size to begin with.

    Perry

    January 20, 2007 at 3:41 pm

  5. Hope your hip problem is healing, Roland. Your thoughts on recumbent touring on the Slipstream are missed.

    Longfellow

    March 11, 2007 at 1:49 am


Leave a Reply

