eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Ride Report – Spokane to Winnachee, Washington

with 5 comments

spokane2winnachee-002.jpg

Special Thanks to Joel Anderson for sharing his ride with us. We have been discussing the ride from Spokane to Seattle and what route to take. Here are Joel’s comments on his route. It looks like Joel followed Route 2 all of the way. That is beautiful country.

Joel, congratulations, you rode your first Century and learned a lot about loaded touring, how could that be a disappointment to anyone.

Here is Joel’s Letter:

Dear Roland

Greetings from the Northwest. You are welcome to publish this in your Blog but I am not sure if you would want to. I will send as many pics as I have I did not take to many.

I am submitting this personal note to all those that want to do it but don’t. If you don’t try you will always wish you had and if you do take the challenge and don’t make it you can be proud of your personal best and you can look to the future and be confident that next time you will.

I have been trying to train myself for a couple months but not getting much time each day. I own a mobile locksmith company and am a contractor for AAA and other Emergency road service Companies. I need to service the call in 30 min or less so I cant be to far away. I carry my lock out tools with me so I can go directly to the job sight. I probably needed to train fully loaded daily for at least a month daily for a couple hours. The message here TRAIN Daily loaded. I was not sure what I was going to take until I packed.

The LOAD was probably a bit over kill for a trip that was to take 5 days or less but it was my first time out. It was so heavy it would wobble abit at time. The kind of shimmy you get in your pickup truck when you overload it. I need to rig a rack over those front wheels to balance the load. Still the bike handled OK once underway. I bolted a little platform behind the seat and Geary at Northwest Rcumbents made a wire frame to hang my panniers under the seat and tent sleeping bag and pad along with a messenger bag on the rear. In all about 50 pounds. Hindsight what would I leave behind right now not sure. to much cooking fuel. to much food

spokane2winnachee-003.jpg

The ride. Got a late start Monday because I did not want to leave in the rain, and start the ride soaked. I had to be in Winachee Tuesday evening for dinner and room for my wife’s birthday. I Covered 60 miles the first day. Found a great little camp sight on the edge of Wilber, WA. Its been to long since my sailing days. You have to sit back and let he wind get you there. You can look at touring the same way only you are peddling. If you give yourself time restraints you are pushing and focused and not focused on enjoying the ride.That was probably another mistake. Between Spokane and Wilbur there are thousands of acres of wheat barley broken up by acres of yellow flowered camola fields. I drive on these roads all he time but you see it differently on a bent. I was pleasantly exhausted at the end of my first day. I got there with enough time to set up camp.

spokane2winnachee-016.jpg

I got underway by 8AM Tuesday and had to make 101 miles by night fall. Did not want to disappoint Jane on her birthday. There are a couple really small towns along the way but I kept pushing. The day was allot warmer than I realized and I did not drink as much water as I should have. I was drinking frequently but not enough. I made Winnachee by 730PM and met Jane at the foot of the pass. My first Century ride but I was done, dead and finished.

I have never seen that pass before we rode up it part way its very tight with constant curves cars don’t see you until they are on top of you Is the Northern tier that narrow as well. Its a beautiful ride one that I want to do when Im not rushing and in better shape. We are thinking about trikes in tandem that way we will always be together.

Sorry I disappointed ya Roland perhaps I will get another shot after the grandchildren visit in June. we or I will do something in July or Aug I guess I should be happier with myself most grandpas at 62 are ready to quit by now. To be continued. Joel The Bentrager

P.S. Stink potter (fossil fuel boat). Rager one that sails boats and my Bent has a sail called a fairing. With a side wind it actually helps a little. Later

Written by Roland

May 31, 2007 at 1:58 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is he riding a cycle genius starling? it looks like a dual 20″ wheels, though and the starling has a 16/20 setup…

    nice writeup

    jorge

    jorge

    May 31, 2007 at 7:57 pm

  2. jorge
    Good eye. No its not a starling its an SGX. CG quit making these a couple years ago. Other than the 16/20 differance and the paint they are the same . I am told the equipment is a cut above the Starling as well as the frame. All I know is that I had been looking for a long time and when I got on this bike and took it for a ride it was like putting on a pair of shoes that fit perfectly. I liked it so much I searched and found another demo in Portland and traveled there to get it for my wife. Working with each other on the same bikes we have worked out our cadence to the point we can ride our Sun Tandem more confortably as a team. That was a good call jorge I tried Jane on the Starling but she prefered the SGX so I found her one.
    Thanks for asking Joel

    Joel

    June 1, 2007 at 12:22 am

  3. what did you do carry water and provisions or did you go in town from time to time .

    D.J. Empert

    June 21, 2007 at 1:39 pm

  4. Joel will have to answer about what he did. But I have ridden in that area and always carry lots of water and enough food to get me through the night.

    Roland

    June 21, 2007 at 1:51 pm

  5. If you don’t mind some very light off-road riding, you can hop on the John Wayne Pioneer Trail through the Cascades. When I last rode it (about three years ago), it was closed east of the Columbia River. But, westbound… beautiful. It’s a very steady grade and is mostly reasonably packed gravel.

    Eric Crampton

    June 22, 2007 at 7:46 pm


Leave a Reply

