eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Cleat Positioning – Follow Up

with 5 comments

kato-3-strap-shoe.jpg

Follow up on previous post Positioning Cleats

I have moved my cleats back as far as possible as suggested in the previous post and agree that seems to be a better position as suggested in the linked discussions.

I have taken the next step and gotten the trusty Dremel Tool out and lengthened the slots in my Kato shoes. As soon as the Monsoon ends I’ll give you an update on how moving the cleats even further back works out.

6/6/07 update

Moving the cleats back an additional 1/4 using a Dremel Tool helped significantly on the right foot but left foot still needs to move further back.

other Pedal and Shoe Posts

Written by Roland

June 4, 2007 at 12:56 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How far back can you go with this diy approach?

    rwaldbart

    December 21, 2007 at 11:28 pm

  2. As as far as you want I expect, but I have gone slowly and found that after about a 1/4″ I have gone far enough.

    Roland

    December 27, 2007 at 5:52 pm

  3. I know this post is over 2 years old, but I was wondering how you extended the slot on your shoes. I’d like the cleats further back as well, and tried using my dremel, but there’s a metal plate underneath the plastic sole. Do you have this metal plate as well, and if so, which accessories did you use for the dremel to grind down the metal? Thanks!

    Shawn

    September 3, 2010 at 11:16 pm

  4. I used a dremel tool, the metal plate clearance wasn’t a problem on my Nike MTBs that I usually use because plate is removable… on Sidi didn’t lengthen for reason you mentioned

    Roland

    September 4, 2010 at 8:21 am


Leave a Reply

