eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Another Cycling Sandal – Nashbar Ragster

with 5 comments

na-rcs.gif

Follow on 4/16/08 – Best Cleated Sandal Yet

Update: 7/28/08

The more I wear these sandals the less I like them. They are serviceable with socks but that is about it. It is too bad that the well made sandals from Shimano and Lake hurt my feet.

Update 4/24/08 It has been unseasonably warm this week and I have been wearing the Ragsters  without socks. Not so good without socks, as expected the foot bed is pretty rough on bare feet. It is too bad that they couldn’t have made these sandals just a little better, but that seems to be typical of Nashbar clothing. These are still the only cleated sandal I can wear but I wouldn’t recommend riding with out socks.

I don’t wear anything but sandals even in the Winter in NH and have tried all kinds of sandals. So far I haven’t found a comfortable cycling sandal that accepts cycling cleats. The big disappointments have been the Shamino and Lake sandals. The both share the same problem, they do not allow the wearer to adjust the position of the foot front to back in the sandal. The result is that the toe ridge presses on a nerve in my foot making them unwearable for me. Both are nicely make, the Shimano looking particularity good.

I am now checking other brands’ last winter I bought a pair of Nashbar cycling sandals with provisions for cleats. These sandals are lowest priced scandals I have tried and like most Nashbar brand goods pretty shoddy looking, But surprisingly they do allow adjustment of the forward to aft foot position. They feel OK and offer some hope of finding a cleated cycling sandal I can wear.

I will do a follow up after some road testing. I am hopeful but suspect I will have to replace the foot pad to make them really usable.

The Nahbar Ragster Sandals are currently on sale at Nashbar for $49.99. N.B., these shoes run small and narrow, expect to order a size larger that your Birkenstock’s.

other Pedal and Shoe Posts

Written by Roland

June 6, 2007 at 12:12 pm

Posted in Pedals and Shoes

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about cycling sandals, so i bought a pair of these to try it out. I’ve actually been using them for a year now, nearly exclusively. They were cheaply made…the cleat rails didn’t match on the left and the right sandal, but after getting it set up, I love them.

    I’ve been watching this thread to see if there’s something I should upgrade to, but most of the other sandals I’ve seen cover considerably more of the foot, which sorta goes against the whole “sandal” idea to my point of view.

    What I want to do is figure out how to mount cleats on my Chaco’s, ’cause I’d wear those all the time.

    doofusdavid

    June 6, 2007 at 2:33 pm

  2. […] Follow on from an earlier post: Another Cycling Sandal – Nashbar Ragster […]

  3. I just put the cleats on a pair of these last evening and rode them to work this morning. The foot bed is very rough and with fairly thin socks was uncomfortable within about 12 miles. I will either have to figure out a way to smooth out the foot bed with an insole, or return the sandals. Oddly enough, when mounting the cleats two of the “threaded” holes on one shoe were not threaded. I was able to find a tap in the right size and threads so taped in some threads my self. Also, the insole is fixed in place so if you ever strip a hole in the mounting plate it is going to take major surgery to install a new mounting plate. Overall they seem fairly poorly made but a great price at about $39 at Nashbar on sale.

    Donald

    September 5, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  4. Donald

    Seem like we agree, these sandals are just not well made enough for extended riding. Too bad because they are the only ones I have found that let me adjust them so that the toe bar doesn’t press on the nerve in my foot.

    Roland

    Roland

    September 7, 2008 at 4:03 pm

  5. Have you tried Sette’s sandals. I just got a pair but haven’t had the opportunity to really try them out. They seem better made than the Nashbars I tried earlier (first pair sent were way too small, the second set was just the wrong shoe entirely, including the wrong size, plus it took close to three weeks for delivery and even the eventual refund). The Sette’s do seem to run a bit narrow so I’d recommend getting at least a size or two larger. That said, they seem OK. LIke I said, haven’t had the opportunity yet to really try them out. But they cost less than the Nashbars so I figured I’d give them a shot. I’ll report back after I get to use them more than a few times.

    RAFH

    November 9, 2008 at 4:36 pm


Leave a Reply

