eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Hip Hope

with 3 comments

Acupuncture

Updated 9-15-09

After several years of chasing a hip problem including several Orthopeds and 3 sessions of PT I just never seemed to improve. I used acupuncture, helped with pain for a little while, and then spent 6 months with a chiropractor but still no improvement.

Last May, I went to the orthoped who works with the local university teams, he thought my problem was a back problem not a hip problem. He sent me back to PT. I found a great physical therapist and 2 weeks later my hip pain was gone. That was in March. With no hip pain I became more active and weight just seemed to fall off of me. Now 6 months later, I have lost 45 pounds and I just bought a new loaded touring bike and am thinking of a tour in southern Italy next year. Life is good again.

After about a year and a half of dealing with a hip problem, Bursitis per Orthopedist, no progress so far. I came out of PT worse that I went in and my Doc is suggesting moving the nerve in the hip to relieve the pressure. I have rejected that proposal because it makes no sense to me. At 62 I know that I don’t have a never running through a muscle group and that my muscle bulk is not increasing. This sounds to me more like what can be done than what needs to be done.

However, a friend has pointed me towards Acupuncture. He has a gotten great pain relief from acupuncture. I have been three times so far now and I seem to be seeing very significant improvement. I have my walk back (not limping and dragging foot) and no pain in the afternoon and at night. I am sleeping and walking better.

I have been skeptical but time will tell if it works for me, but so far the indicators are good.

I am hoping to be back on my bike this winter.

Follow up 1/9/08

I am working out almost everyday at the gym now. Hip pain is not gone but it is not a problem most of the time, except first thing in morning. Effects of Acupuncture seemed to level out after a couple of months for me, but I am much better than when I started. When I started walking was a problem and pain was something I was living with everyday. Now most of my days after the first hour or so in the morning are pain free. I am sleeping better and feeling a lot better.

Here is link to a SportsGezzer article on Acupuncture that makes a lot of sense to me,  Acupuncture, Real and Otherwise, Relieves Migraines.

Written by Roland

September 19, 2007 at 7:39 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bursitis and nerve compression are two very different things. So, I don’t understand why your ortho guy would suggest a ‘nerve’ transfer. The sciatic nerve, and other smaller nerves, do run though/between muscle groups in everybody. It has nothing to do with age or muscle bulk. Its just the anatomy of humans in general. If your ‘hip’ pain is lateral (NOT butt) then bursitis is more likely. If its more posterior, then sciatic irritation compression is possible. Some men have ‘hip’ problems because they sit on a bulky wallet .One treatment/diagnostic possibilty is a cortisone shot around the bursa. Good luck.

    RonH

    September 21, 2007 at 9:15 am

  2. I agree 100% with what you say Ron. I suspect earlier wallet involvement. But haven’t used a wallet for the last few years because of what it did to me while driving in the past.

    Mine is definite on the butt and in PT it was treated as a nerve compression even though the Doc said bursitis. Strangely he also suggested moving the nerve so I suspect he uses the term more broadly.

    Yes, cortisone was discussed but only as a way to relieve the pain not as a solution.

    But the great new is that this morning I got out of bed with no pain for the first time in a year and a half. Yes, a feeling of deep bruising is still there but no sharp pain. I also have been pain free from noon on for the last week. This has made a big difference in the quality of my sleep.

    Thanks for the well wishes.

    Roland

    September 21, 2007 at 9:29 am

  3. try VAX-D I had good succes with it

    Anonymous

    October 6, 2007 at 3:07 pm


Leave a Reply

