eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

SeakSkinz Waterproof Gloves – Beware

leave a comment »

karst_1973_52091763.jpg

I have been a fan of SealSkinz waterproof socks since I used them when riding in Newfoundland and Labrador. They really do the job of keeping your feet warm in 40 and 50 degree rain. So when I saw they also have gloves I ordered a pair.

Here is the product description for the gloves:

SealSkinz unique Waterproof MVT (Moisture Vapor Transpiration) gloves are designed to keep your hands dry – completely dry! You need SealSkinz when you hike, camp, fish, work outdoors, bicycle, whenever you need wet weather protection that only SealSkinz can provide.

I expected the gloves to keep my hands dry and warm on cool to cold rain days. Instead they acted like sponges and my hands froze in water logged gloves. I thought this must be a mistake no one could get this so wrong. So I called the manufacturer and they explained there may have been a problem with a batch of gloves and sent me another pair.

I finally tried the second pair out last weekend in 46 degree rain and exactly the same problem. After only a few minutes the gloves became very heavy and felt like wet sponges on my hands. Very quickly my hands became very cold and I had to turn back. These gloves are definitely not waterproof and don’t keep your hands warm. These are the worst performing rain gloves I have ever seen.

I still can’t believe that the company that makes SealSkinz socks could get things so wrong but my experience with my first two pairs has been awful. These gloves definitely aren’t waterproof and don’t keep your hands warm. I am back to wool or poly gloves with rain covers when needed.

I am hoping others can tell me my experience with SealSkinz gloves is a fluke but for now stay away from these gloves.

Written by Roland

November 7, 2007 at 2:11 pm

Posted in Equipment

Leave a Reply

