eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Wintersocks – SealSkinz & Smartwool

with 3 comments

sealskinzsocks1.jpgsmartwoolsock.jpg

Well no surprise the weather has turned cold in New Hampshire. So last Saturday I got out my Smartwool and SealSkinz socks. They make a nice combo for winter riding even if you wear sandals like I do. The SealSkinz are mildly breathable and very windproof. The Smartwool socks are comfortable and warm even when you foot gets damp.

This is the combo I used was great success when cycling in Labrador and Newfoundland in rain when the temperature was in the low 50’s and the wind was very strong. They kept my feet warm and dry even in sandals.

Unlike the SealSkinz gloves the socks stand up well in the rain and don’t absorb water (I am hoping they haven’t changed the socks). I have several pairs and always take them with me if cold rain or wind is a possibility.

I like the way that Smartwool socks fit and feel. They keep my feet warm in sandals except when it is very windy or raining on cool to cold days. The only downside is that they are fairly expensive and don’t seem to last very long. Life is reasonable but not great for the price.

I usually buy my Smartwools on EBay. I usually get seconds at less than $10 a pair (list is over $18).Other good sources are Campmor and Sierra Trading Post.

For SealSkinz, Karst Sports usually has the best price. The current sale price is $35 for a pair. Expensive I know but these will last a long time and serve you well.

Remember, keeping your hands and feet warm during winter rides will go a long way towards keeping the rides fun. Layer you core so you can let it breathe as you warm up but keep your hands and feet protected if it is windy or getting towards mid-afternoon when temperatures drop.

Written by Roland

November 20, 2007 at 8:11 pm

Posted in Recumbent Clothing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Roland, Hope you are feeling better and will be ready for Spring riding.
    Being a southern boy, I try to avoid the kind of weather requiring the clothing about which you have been posting. Although I have traveled to/from work in snow and sleet along with temps in the 20’s, I now work at home and ride when it is warmer and dry. My personal conviction is that ice belongs in iced tea and not outside on the ground.
    After much messing about adjusting things on my Slipstream, I am very happy with it. Now I can ride without the pain in my neck and shoulders from arthritis that kept me off the Trek df bike.
    Keep that body moving. Good riding weather will be here before you know it.

    Charles Stell

    December 8, 2007 at 10:39 am

  2. Charles, thanks for the good words. I am hoping to be back on the roads when the weather warms up. For now I am spending my time on the Elliptical machine,

    Glad the Slipstream has helped get you back to pain free riding.

    What kind of things did you have to do to get your Slipstream setup. I am sure other Slipstream riders and potential riders would like to hear what it took.

    Enjoy the Ride … Roland

    Roland

    December 11, 2007 at 8:04 am

  3. Roland, The Slipstream setup consisted mostly of moving the seat back and adjusting the seat angle and seat stays until I felt it was the best combination for comfort and power transfer. This machine has an incredible range of adjustment!
    After that, it was tweaking the steering grip angles to where my hands naturally fell onto the grips.
    Finally, I added Knee-Savers to my pedals to space them out 20mm. This keeps my shoes from rubbing the crank arms (I have duck feet) and relieved the angle on my knees and ankles.
    All of this has taken entirely too much time as work seems to be interfering with my cycling habit. This being my first bent, I moved the seat a great deal more than I would have on a DF bike. Guess my starting point was a bit off.
    Only minor adjustments were needed on the brakes and derailers right out of the box.
    Initially, I mounted a hand held GPS to the computer mount. It was large and rattled on chipseal. The vibration looked as though it could not be good for the bike or GPS. Now I have an inexpensive bike computer on the mount and just put the GPS in the rack pack as I’m not using it for navigation.
    The bike is now just a year old and I have only had time to put about 250 miles on it. Mostly about 20 miles at a time on a course that climbs 1300 feet.
    The last change was to purchase Klean-Kanteen 27oz stainless steel water bottles as I really hate the taste of plastic. 100+ degree days can really foul your water supply quickly.
    Next I plan to tackle new panniers and perhaps a better tail light. I do ride with the tail light blinking even during the day and with an Aardvark Cycling Accessories reflective triangle on the back of the rack pack. Incidentally, this is attached with magnets so as not to make extra holes in the rack pack.
    Thanks for the tip about the safety T-shirts. I purchased some in the yellow and have been riding with them. A local deputy working a radar trap noted that it really made me easy to see even while riding a recumbent.
    Now if the weather would just clear up . . .

    Charles Stell

    December 11, 2007 at 2:01 pm


Leave a Reply

