eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

No Clipless Pedals for Me This Year

with 6 comments

Cartoon from unknow souce 

This is a sadder but wiser update of  my 2006 post:  Why I don’t use Clipless Pedals. 

I am back to Power Grips this year. I don’t know it for sure but I feel that using Clipless Pedals in 2006 contributed to the hip problem that have kept me off of my bicycle for the last year.  All I can say is that I had no problems for years with PowerGrips but after 6 months with Clipless Pedals, I had to stop riding because of hip pain. This is not proof but I don’t think I can ignore this strong feeling.

 All that I said in my 2006 posting, Why I don’t use Clipless Pedals,  I still believe.  What is new is that I now also believe that the stress that Clipless Pedals put on your Hips and Knees can be a problem. My pedals and seat may not have been perfectly adjusted, but I worked hard at getting them there. In fact I felt like I was spending more time playing with pedals and uncomfortable shoes than riding.

This was a violation of the First Tenet on my Recumbent Touring Philosophy (click on Philosophy Tab to read more):

“We are doing this for fun. Anything that prevents us from having fun should be avoided.”

So in 2008 I am not using Clipless Pedals because for me they are not fun.

If you want more information about PowerGrips, you will find that information in the 2006 posting .

Written by Roland

February 29, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Posted in Pedals and Shoes, Rant

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] No Clipless Pedals for Me This Year […]

  2. Hi Roland, me again. Absolutely, if they work for you, you should use them. I’m a die hard clippie. Without them, I don’t climb worth a darn. Toe clips and PowerGrips seem to put pressure on a smaller area when working hard. I commuted for years with double sided mountain SPDs and became so used to them I feel half my power is missing without them. The KneeSavers took care of my alignment problems so my SPDs are happy again.
    But, that’s me. As you say, if you’re not having fun, something is wrong. Like any other technology, the pedals should dis-appear from notice and let you enjoy the ride.
    By the way, do your toes get sunburned in those sandals?

    Charles

    February 29, 2008 at 5:16 pm

  3. Hi Charles, hope all is well.

    Yes, if you aren’t careful your toes do get sunburned. That was a problem on my first long ride with my Ryan, since then I have used sun creme.

    Enjoy …. Roland

    Roland

    February 29, 2008 at 10:55 pm

  4. I believe Kneesaver Pedal Extenders might help ease this problem when using clipless pedals.

    http://www.bikescor.com/product/knee.htm

    Ricky

    July 7, 2008 at 7:00 pm

  5. Yes, they may and I have added them.

    I have also switched to short crank arms. The short crank arms have been a much bigger improvement than expected. However, for now I am staying away from clipless pedals.

    Thanks .. Roland

    Roland

    July 7, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  6. Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5 . Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, At 58 I had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and months of rehab.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

    vicp

    January 14, 2009 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

