eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Slipstream Kick Stand Fix

with 3 comments

Kick Stand Fix for longbikes SlipStream

Update 4/9/08 see SlipStream Kick Stand Fix Installed

Greg Peek has a fix for the Longbikes Slipstream Kick Stand problem discussed in Slipstream Kick Stand Update.

There may be more but this is what I’ve found on the Longbikes web site:

Product upgrade announcement: Slipstream owners, if you have had problems with your ESGE 2 leg kickstand not staying tight to the frame, I finally made some reinforcing adapters which beef up the kickstand bridge and eliminate the problem of the kickstand rotating.  We will have a small quantity on the shelf in a few days when they come back from anodizing.  If you need or want to upgrade to these, drop me a note and we can get them to you.  I will determine the price and get photos on the site sometime later this week

The new parts (shown above) have a lip to prevent the kick stand from turning and lips to keep the bracket itself from turning. Looks like it should work. The parts themselves are like all of Greg’s parts very nicely machined and finished, very high quality parts.

The parts have arrived but the roads in New Hampshire are not yet ready for much Slipstream riding. We still have a lot of snow and ice along the sides of the road where there are sides. But I will be installing and reporting on results soon, I hope.

Written by Roland

March 11, 2008 at 12:20 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just placed my order for one. Thanks for the heads up.
    Although I have not had a problem, the bike has not yet been on a loaded tour. That’s one little irritation I would like to head off beforehand.

    Charles

    March 11, 2008 at 4:46 pm

  2. Charles, glad I could help. We had a snow storm today but bicycling season is getting very close. I plan to out workig on my bike tommorow. my new cranks are in I’m just waiting for a couple of tools I need for the change out.

    Roland

    March 12, 2008 at 11:14 pm

  3. […] Comments Roland on Tip: SRAM Power Link Gold 9-sp…Slipstream Kick Stan… on Slipstream Kick Stand Fix Inst…Slipstream Kick Stan… on Fixing the Slipstrean […]


Leave a Reply

