eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Slipstream Idler kit – Part 2

with 5 comments

5/12/09 Update: I can’t recommend this idler kit for the Slipstream. I have done a bit of riding with them now and have to say I am not impressed. The concept is good but the reality is increased noise and an idler that doesn’t seem to follow the chain line very well. This is an expensive upgrade without significant benefits.

This is a continuation of an earlier posting,  TerraCycle’s Long bikes Slipstream Idler Kit.

So what is in TerraCycle’s  Longbikes Slipstream Idler Kit? The answer is simple, 2 idlers, some hardware, and installation instructions.

Here is the return idler with mounting hardware.

The back view of the return idler and hardware.

A back view of the Power idler and it’s mounting hardware.

Front view of Power Idler.

The installation instructions look simple and clear.

Note: These scans of the instructions are big files and very slow to download so please be patient.

Idler kit Installation Instructions

Return Idler Maintenance Instructions

Power Idler Maintenance Instructions

I’ll follow up on how the installation goes and effect on ride when weather permit.

Written by Roland

April 5, 2008 at 6:59 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Roland, I’ve been wondering your thoughts on the Terracycle chain idler kit. How as it been doing? Climbing the steep hills around here makes me think the stock power side idler could benefit from the change. Whether the lower side would or not I have no idea.
    Also, I hope you are feeling better. It will start getting chilly up there soon.
    Regards,
    Charles

    Charles

    October 5, 2008 at 4:36 pm

  2. Thanks Charles, I am still not cycling but hope to be next Spring.

    I can’t really recommend the Terracycle Idler Kit, it is just way too expensive and are quite noisy.

    I think upgrading to better idlers makes sense. The Rans Idlers look like a good middle ground to me.

    Roland

    October 8, 2008 at 12:22 pm

  3. Thanks, I’ll take a look at the Rans product.

    Very sorry to hear you are not on the road. Here we have been lucky to have two weekends of great weather in a row.

    Take care of yourself and stick with the therapy so you will be ready in the Spring.

    Charles

    October 9, 2008 at 10:11 am

  4. Roland,

    Have you done any more riding using the Terracycle idlers and have your opinions cahnged about them?

    Thanks for your thoughts.

    Longfellow

    Longfellow

    May 11, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    • I am not crazy about the Terracycle Idlers and for that price I should be. They seem noisy and don’t follow the chainline very well. I am thinking of replacing them with rubber idlers with ball bearing hubs from PowerOn Cycling. I have ordered the new idlers and will be installing them soon. Visit from my son has thrown my cycling way off and pushed posting to the back for a few days.

      Roland

      May 12, 2009 at 9:37 am


Leave a Reply

