eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Tip: SRAM Power Link Gold 9-speed Connector

with 2 comments

Today I installed my new cranks and idlers. Everything went very easy except I forgot how to open the SRAM Power Link Gold 9-speed Connector I use on my chains.

I had forgotten that the link needs to be both compressed and squeezed at the same time to open.

These Power Links are great to have on your chains. No more chain tool and spare pins, no more taking the chain apart several times to get it to move freely. These links if clean and you remember to squeeze in both directions at the same time just come apart with no hassle.

I initially worried that Power Links would weaken the chain but after about 30k miles using them I haven’t noticed any downside.

For about $4 each they are a great buy. Better still buy your new chains with them already installed.

Written by Roland

April 7, 2008 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Equipment, Tips

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like these connectors because they make it so easy to remove the chain to clean and lube. Then while the chain is off, the rest of the drivetrain is easily accessible for cleaning. Especially handy this Spring with all the rain. Much less fiddly than the chain tool and trying to get the new pins started perfectly straight.
    When first I used them, I wondered if they would hold up as well as the traditional system. So far, I’ve had no problems.

    Charles

    April 8, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  2. Charles, I am with you. I have had great luck with these links. I was never that good a replacing chain links but with Power Links don’t have to worry about that anymore.

    I usually buy SRAM Chains so don’t even think about breaking chains anymore.

    Roland

    April 9, 2008 at 5:42 pm


Leave a Reply

