eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Tip: In for a Fall with your Slipstream?

with 2 comments

Yesterday, I fell for the first time in quite a while. Just a twisted knee and a bruised shoulder but major embarrassment. As I was riding across a bridge, suddenly I was on the ground and a little dazed. The diamond frame rider behind me asked if I was OK and then added “Nice ride”.

What had happened was that the bolt that connects the steering bar to the steering lever on the front wheel had fallen out. When that happens the front wheel turns sideways and you are very quickly on the ground.

I have taken this bolt out several time to transport my Slipstream.  I have always used anti-seize on the bolts and I suspect this bolt just loosened up or that I hadn’t tightened it well last time.

Take away from the fall:

1. Yes, you really should check all bolts each year at least, monthly would be even better.

2. A little purple Locktite makes a lot of sense on this bolt.

Written by Roland

April 12, 2008 at 7:56 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ouch! Hope you’re recovering quickly. After reading this, I did go and check all fasteners as it had been about 6 months. Nothing amiss; but, you’re right, regular checks should be on everyone’s schedule. I have not removed this bolt and have not had to disassemble anything for shipment. It may be that the thread compound needs the occasional cleaning out of the threads when the fastener is removed and replaced several times. I have experienced this on motorcycles. Loctite Corp. makes a solvent that can be used to dissolve the dried compound. This helped on the motorcycle. Then if it happens again – drill it and safety-wire it!

    Charles

    April 13, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  2. Thanks, Charles, just stiff for a couple of day.

    Working on motorcycles is where I got into the habit of using antiseize. It works great most places but this bolt might not be the best application. I think a little Locktite Purple would be better.

    Roland

    April 14, 2008 at 7:44 am


Leave a Reply

