eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Follow up – Short Cranks

leave a comment »

This is a follow on from Short Cranks First Impressions.

Short cranks so far have turned out better than I expected. I wasn’t sure that there would be a noticeable effect. But I was wrong.

I expected the improved spin but also expected to lose some climbing Torque.  My climbing torque seems to have improved and my spin is definitely better. I seem to be spinning faster and climbing hills easier with more kick as I get towards the top.

The big surprise is that the shorter cranks seem to have improved the load balance on my legs. I have had three surgeries on my left knee and my right leg is much stronger than the left. The combination of shorter cranks and spinning faster seems to work my left leg more. Yes, my left leg is showing the signs of working harder, more muscle soreness and an occasional cramp. But I think that is a good thing and may explain why I am climbing better.

Special thanks to:

Mark Stonich
Bikesmith Design
5349 Elliot Ave S
Minneapolis MN 55417-1741

Mark helped me pick out the right cranks for me. He was very patient and helpful whenever I had a question plus he did some nice work on the cranks.

So far my feeling is that I should have gotten Short Cranks earlier and that short cranks are one of the best improvements you can make on a LWB recumbent.

Written by Roland

June 19, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Posted in Cranks and BBs

Leave a Reply

