eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Not many Posts Lately

with 10 comments

I haven’t been posting much since I reinjured my knee. I haven’t been able to bicycle or walk very far for quite a while and that has sapped my enthusiasm.

But I am in PT and making good progress. Yesterday was my first ride in quite a while. Only 2 miles but better than none.

Now the the Tour de France is over, I have an extra 3 to 4 hours a day and will try to get the posts going again.

Written by Roland

July 28, 2008 at 11:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Roland,

    I hope the knee is feeling better and that you have managed a few more rides since that initial two-miler.

    I think you use a Garmin GPS on your Slipstream. Have you used a regular cyclometer on it or on the Vanguard? If you did, what would you recommend? I’m looking for a wired bicycle computer with the usual features plus cadence to fit a Slipstream. Altimeter would be nice but not necessary.

    Many thanks.

    Longfellow

    August 18, 2008 at 6:17 pm

  2. Hi… I am new to recumbant riding and enjoy it so much that I want to ride my bike to work, weather permitting. I noticed a bit of discomfort in my knees after a long ride so I got on this website and noticed other riders with knee problems. Somewhere on these sites was great advise about how to avoid such issues. I had to agree because by tiral and error I found common sense to be best in avoiding future pain in the knee. I simply don’t stress that area. I shift to a lower, easier gear when an uphill battle is looming. I also get off my bike when by butt gets sore, walk the bike a few minuets and it feels great!

    Dianne

    August 27, 2008 at 11:34 am

  3. Hello Dianne, Welcome to recumbent riding. As a fat old guy, I find that low gears allow me to climb any hill. Balancing at 2-1/2mph is a skill.
    If you have alignment problems with your knees, check into the Kneesavers pedal extensions. After installing the 20mm extensions on my Longbikes Slipstream my knees no longer bother me. (even after a day in the Ozarks alternating between 3 and 40mph)

    Charles

    August 28, 2008 at 9:18 am

  4. That’s the secret become a world class spinner, equip your bike with mountain gearing, and walk when you are putting a lot of pressure on your knees.

    Roland

    September 1, 2008 at 5:21 am

  5. Since I last posted I have taken to recumbant bicycling like a fish in water. Commuting to work and back is invigorating and I lost 40 lbs somewhere along the way. I still need to equip my bike with a light and some fenders and maybe a simple odometer. No knee problems, back issues, neck strain, wrist pain or general complaints here! I only wish the weather to be more consistent because in the Spokane area weather changes lots. I rode home in hail when my arrival was sunny… some warm and protective golves would be nice too. I am learning by trial and error. Fun tough!

    Dianne

    February 24, 2009 at 2:29 pm

  6. From 1990 to 2000 I commuted daily in Ft. Worth, Texas. Mostly it was dry there. Now that I’m in Arkansas, it is much wetter. I look forward to your report on fenders. Have you looked at the Planet Bike Freddy Fenders? A friend has some on a Rans Stratus XP and likes them.
    Congratulations on the 40lb loss. I’m envious. My old family doctor told me my glands were messed up and I was lucky to be alive. Also, as a side benefit, I rode 150 miles a week for 10 years and only lost 3 lbs. Of course I did feel great. Really miss those cool, early morning rides to work when it was quiet under the starry Texas skies.

    Charles

    February 25, 2009 at 2:13 pm

  7. I ended up getting the fenders made for my bike (EZ by Sun) and the installation was a breeze. I also installed lights so now I am safe to go. But now I want more! : A “computer” type device that tells me how far I have gone, how fast I am going and what the time of day it is. Just those three bits of information would be helpful when I am out expolring and am not sure how far I have gone, how long it has taken me and how fast to go to get back in time for anyone waiting on me to arrive. I pushed myself hard yesterday because I wanted to explore a new ride but wasn’t sure if I had enough time to get back based on the unknown distance and speed of the trip. Turns out, I returned in plenry of time and did not have to stress about it along the way. But a computer would have informed me nicely! The other thing I need to know is how to fix a flat tire. I have never had one so I have no point of refrence. On this website is a good how-to video that I watched. I have a patch kit but perhaps I will put a couple of tire tubes in by bike bag for emergencies. Just removing the rear wheel looks intimidating! I need some tools for the job too. Perhaps a cell phone and a call to AAA can slove the crisis if needed?

    Dianne

    March 2, 2009 at 11:21 am

  8. I took a bad fall off my recumbant that would not have been even noticable if I had been wearing close- toed shoes. Skidded on a gravel patch on the way to work and ended up in surgery an hour later to put the top of ny foot back on. I was in a hurry and was being careless. That was the day before labor day and I am just now able to walk on it. Stupidity does hurt! Still, if I had not been on a recumbant I would have had that much further to the ground to fall and perhaps the injurys would have been worse? Anyway, I am glad to be back on my bike again and have the summer off to ride. I gained 20 lbs just by being extremely sedintary and eating my way through self pitty. It is amazing how fragile we are and how sudden things can change!
    Lsast night I changed my first flat tire and it was pretty easy! I used a patch kit and did it in the garage. So now I feel fairly prepared for emergencies of that sort. However, I will always wear protective shoes even though it is hot and sandals are a temptation. That sort of emergency one could easily avoid.

    Dianne

    July 20, 2009 at 10:23 am

  9. Dianne, glad to hear you are doing better and back on the bike.

    Sounds like you have basic road repairs mastered and are ready to tour.

    You can imagine how Jens Voight must feel after the fall he took in the Tour this week.

    Hope you have a great summer of cycling.

    Roland

    Roland

    July 23, 2009 at 3:52 pm

  10. Roland, I missed that crash becasue I have been following the race as I catch it on T.V. So I looked it up on U Tube. Someone posted that the bike helmet is only rated to protect at 13mph or less speed? He took a grewsome fall and makes me realize that speed is what contributed to my fall as well. I am glad I was not going near as fast as he was and also that he was not hurt any worse than he was. It serves to make one more cautious when watching a video like that one. And he was a far more experienced rider than I! I don’t think he was stupid, perhaps just pushing himself like I did that day on my bike. Maybe he hit a bump or bit of loose gravel like I did. Anyway, thanks for bringing that to my attention because it is true, things could always be worse…

    P.S. I went white-water rafting for the first time yesterday, class three river about 2 hours from here. It was a blast but used muscles I didn’t know I have! Got to cycle more, or something.

    Dianne

    July 26, 2009 at 7:11 pm


Leave a Reply

