eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

What can you see with your head light

with 3 comments

Which of these is your head light?

Reading lumen and wattage specs on head lights doesn’t give you a very good idea of what you will see at night with a head light. Planet Bike has created a way to compare head lights by taking pictures of what is visible with different head lamps. This is the best tool I’ve seen for comparing head lights. Check it out at

Planet Bike – Head Light Finder

By the way, the folks at Planet Bike are some of the nicest and most helpful folks I have ever bought bicycling gear from. They are always helpful and knowable when I call.

My personal preference is to not ride at night. But I carry a small head light and tail light. They make me visible to drivers at night. They don’t really illuminate the road; they are safety lights. I never plan to ride in the dark but it happens occasionally.

Related Post: Bike Light Tests and Lights in my Eyes. This posts shows what lights I use and the reason why brighter lights don’t help me much.

Written by Roland

September 3, 2008 at 9:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] They call me "Opti": They make me visible to drivers at night. They don’t really illuminate the road; they are safety lights. I never plan to ride in the dark but it happens ocassionally. Related Post: Bike Light Tests and Lights in my Eyes. … […]

  2. When I don’t expect to ride at night, I have a few blinkies.

    When I expect to ride at night I grab the helmet with the DIY 700 lumen LEDs on it and the laptop battery which has about 6 hours runtime. Drivers think I’m a UFO or something and pedestrians run away. It’s pretty useful.

    Peufeu

    June 15, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    • I am not usually as concerned about what I can see as I am in being seen and protecting my vision from the bight lights on cars. When I feel most threatened is when I can’t see the road because of the high beams on the approaching car have blinded me.

      When there is no moon out and no street lights or traffic, yes, the road is dark and you need a light to ride. But it doesn’t take a lot of light to avoid obstacles and stay on the road at touring speed.

      I also don’t intentionally ride at night except in very hot areas while touring.

      This makes the choice of a riding light a lot easier. I just need a light that traffic can see not a flood light with a mega battery.

      Roland

      June 18, 2009 at 2:52 pm


Leave a Reply

