eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Where to put my wallet?

with 6 comments

img_0177

I have been trying to do all of my errands by bicycle this month. I have my grocery panniers mounted all of the time so I can just zip out anytime. What I miss is my rack pack, the place where I normally keep my cellphone, wallet, iPod Touch, sun glasses, and wind breaker.

img_0178

Yesterday, I did a little digging in the old bike gear storage area and found a Cannondale handle bar bag. It attaches nicely to back of the Slipstream seat and provides a handy spot for small items when I have the Grocery panniers mounted.

If you have trouble with the bag moving a couple of rubber bands or wire ties will fix the problem.

Written by Roland

April 16, 2009 at 7:21 am

Posted in Bags, Tips

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roland, the bike looks good. Congrats on doing your shopping by bike. My question is, “how often do you go to the grocery store?” I ride my bike to the store as well, but because I can’t carry as much, I usually go to the store every 3 or 4 days. How often do you go?

    Darren Alff

    April 16, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    • Darren

      I like to buy fresh vegetables every 2 days, 3 days at the most. That keeps my loads small … under 4 six packs or 3 bottles of wine. Food is seldom the heavy part of my load.

      The bag of cat crunchies is probably the biggest thing I carry but beer is definitely the heaviest.

      Roland

      Roland

      April 16, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  2. Hello, I too own a Slipstream, and i wanted to add information to your ‘grocery’ trip.

    Beer run load.

    I use Arkel RT-60’s and on a trip to get supplies for a party I stopped at the beer store & Liquor store to load-up.

    I was able to fit:
    -3 cases of beer (36 cans)
    -3 cases of coolers (18 Vodka coolers glass bottles)
    -6 ‘Large-ish’ Cans of Long-Island ice tea (750ml each)
    My Arkel Tailrider was still empty, and there was a little bit of room left, but not much.

    It equated to a lot of weight, but the bike was solid and stable.

    P.S. I am not an alcoholic, these were just supplies for my Father-in-laws birthday party.
    =)

    P.P.S. love the site.

    Matthew

    April 18, 2009 at 10:47 pm

  3. You can see some pics here:
    http://picasaweb.google.com/o2kewl/LongbikesSlipstreamBurleyTailRider?feat=directlink

    I don’t have any photos showing packing capacity though.

    Matthew

    April 19, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  4. The quality appears to be very high. I was impressed with the mechanics of the unit.

    1) The ratchet-release device is VERY clever. If I had (a) smaller hands or (b) didn’t have the TailRider then it would be very easy to attach/detach the panniers.

    IMHO the attachment mechanism is perfect for taking the bags off the bike to go grocery shopping with.

    2) the bag has internal supports (straps, metal framing, and quick-release buckles that keep the bag ‘in-shape’ even when you do overload it.

    3) the sleeping mat attachment is brilliant, but looks horrible when empty. Solution: I took a cardboard box, flattened it out, and placed that inside the vertical bag. This give the bag some structure and I store my wet-weather clothes in there.

    Advice: get the water-proof covers with the bag. The only cost ~$15 and are worth it.

    Matthew

    April 19, 2009 at 2:26 pm


Leave a Reply

