eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Does Coffee make me a better Bicyclist?

with 5 comments

2818254382_bcd32acf9a

I am not a coffee drinker and almost never drink coffee except on moderate to long bicycle rides. I find the taste of coffee too strong and that it hides the taste of food.

I don’t drink energy drinks and gatorade upsets my stomach. My favorite Power Bars are Fig Newtons. I just don’t think expensive speciality food does much for most cyclists. I am a believer in the Laws of Thermodynamics and am skeptical of any claims that seem to violate them.

But I may be wrong. I do feel that a hot cup of Dunkin Donuts coffee helps get me over the mid-ride energy dip I often encounter. The combination of caffeine and sugar gives me a boost that gets me to the end of a 50 to 70 mile ride feeling better than if I hadn’t had one.

For my wife there is no intelligent life before a Starbucks Venti Carmel Macchito but she is addicted and must have her coffee. Lots of riders want an ice cream, for me it’s a hot Dunkin Donuts regular (lots of cream and sugar) coffee and I am ashamed to admit a blueberry donut.

Written by Roland

May 1, 2009 at 10:35 am

Posted in Tips, Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A subject close to my heart. Yes, there is no life before coffee; however, I like mine black and strong from fresh ground beans. Just could not convince myself that good coffee needed other ingredients.
    Specialty energy foods/drinks have the same effect on me. They also usually taste disgusting. Water, orange juice, bananas, granola bars, and fig newtons have taken me untold miles sans abdominal pains.
    Some time back I removed toaster pastries from my list of approved nourishment when I managed to drop one in the yard and discovered the ants would not eat it. That should tell you something about the level of preservatives in most of our prepared foods.

    Charles

    May 3, 2009 at 8:08 am

  2. Sometimes the ride to the coffee shop is the only reason I get out on the bike.

    Jason B

    May 3, 2009 at 10:06 am

  3. There is hardly a calorie in that doughnut that won’t be used on the way home!
    Coffee’s good but I’m not sure about the polystyrene cup :0)

    nobby

    June 19, 2009 at 2:18 am

  4. Nobby

    I believe expanded polystyrene will pass through your system but yield very little in the way of calories. My guess is that it is not a winner when it comes to flavor or texture.

    Enjoy the ride, the coffee, and the donut …. Roland

    Roland

    June 19, 2009 at 10:32 am

  5. :0)

    nobby

    June 19, 2009 at 11:11 am


Leave a Reply

