eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Garmin Edge 605 for Touring

with 4 comments

Garmin Edge 605

The Garmin Edge 605 is a nice compact GPS that does a great job of collecting data as you ride. It also works well as a Cycling Computer. But it just doesn’t cut it as a GPS for Bicycle Touring. I am so disappointed. The Edge 606 and 705 could have been great Touring Tools.

Data display from your rides

What is doesn’t seem to do is routing. I am hoping someone will prove me wrong on this. You can’t just open your Garmin Mapping Software, create a route and send the route to your Edge. Yes, you still have to buy the maps but no routing.

The Other major limitation is battery life, 12 hours and you can’t just stick in new batteries, they have to be recharged. OK, if you are staying in motels but a major limitation if you are camping.

Written by Roland

March 24, 2010 at 10:55 am

Posted in Equipment

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roland,
    What do I need for C2C? Did you load the route on the 605? Bubba talked about you loading the route on ???. I suppose they handed out a map every morning? What do you loke for a cycling GPS these days?

    George

    George Boykin

    July 12, 2011 at 6:06 am

    • Goat head proof tires would be a real plus, the folks riding the Schwabe Marathon Plus tires seemed to have no flats. My great kevlar belted Tour Guards didn’t fare anywhere as well. I had 12 flats in El Paso and a total of about 20 on the ride.

      I decided not to load the route into my GPS and was glad I didn’t. There were quite a few changes during the ride as Bubba found better routes or a things popped up. Plus working from the Cue sheet just added fun to the ride. A simple clip that will hold your cue sheet where you can read it is very, very convenient. Just have a small plastic bag to put the sheet in when it gets very damp in the south east.

      Roland

      July 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    • Did you see my pictures from C2C 2011 on NHFobb.com?

      Roland

      July 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      • Yes. My brother and I planned to do the ride, but my wife had some Doctor issues, so we pushed it back a year. We had done a ride (pittsburg to d.c.) with Krash and got to talking abour c2c. I really liked your whole travel log. You seemed to not mind answering questions and I appreciate the help. The ride looks pretty straight forward. Halfway (Navasota, Texas) is 30 miles south of my home.

        George Boykin

        July 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm


Leave a comment