eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

How to remove Shimano HollowTech II Cranks

with 10 comments

 hollowtech.jpg

I have my new shorter cranks but so far haven’t been able to get the Shimano HollowTech II cranks that I am replacing off. Every time I start this job I find that I am missing another tool. Here’s a nice set of instructions with a tool list so you won’t have the same problem.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE SHIMANO HOLLOWTECH II® OUTBOARD BEARING SYSTEM

Just be sure you have all of the tools they list as required before you start.

I have removed mine and it was as simple as the video shows once I had the tool to remove the caps. This is a beautifully designed set of cranks that is extremely easy to work on. I just wish they came in shorter lengths for recumbent riders.

Thanks to the folks at  enduro fork seals .com for a very nice set of instructions. 

Written by Roland

March 25, 2008 at 12:06 am

Posted in Cranks and BBs

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for this info! The step by step guide is awesome! Like you, this problem has been vexing me for ages! Problem solved!

    Stuart

    June 10, 2009 at 4:12 am

  2. Excellent write up, thanks!

    Abe

    August 4, 2009 at 12:15 pm

  3. very helpfull…thanks heaps

    Anonymous

    September 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  4. Excellent step-by-step instructions with very clear pictures. Leaves no question unanswered. I agree, have all the tools you need ready before you start. Thank you!

    Snowhuskyboy

    January 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm

  5. Excellent instructions, and the photos are very helpful. Does tapping the spindle with a mallet damage the bearings?

    Edward

    June 26, 2011 at 12:13 am

  6. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the greatest websites on the net. I am going to recommend this site!

    Shimano Pedal

    March 24, 2012 at 8:03 am

  7. Chainrings?

    Shimano Pedal

    March 24, 2012 at 8:56 am

  8. I’ve done cranks before, but was not sure on this style. Thanks so much for showing me what to do. Once I’ve seen it, I’m good to go. You guys are the best.

    CJ Baker

    May 16, 2012 at 12:02 am

  9. Great illuminated instruction. I will be using it fortwith. Why no torque specs for the bearing cups?

    Les B

    September 25, 2012 at 3:29 pm


Leave a comment