eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Threaded Headset Maintenance – Front End Wobble

with 2 comments

Headset Wrenches

Headset Wrenches

Riding home on Sunday my Slipstream suddenly developed a sever front end wobble at speeds above 20 MPH. I haven’t really checked it yet but I suspect the headset is loose. Last year it started to bind and I adjusted it. I am hoping that another adjustment will do the trick.

I am also hoping that my sloppy maintenance last year didn’t create a problem. Last year ( Adjusting the Slipstream Headset), I just assumed it was sticking because it was tight and loosened the adjustment. I should have disassembled the headset and checked for dirt or foreign material in the headset. If that was the case I will probably be replacing the head set this year.

This year I am going to do the job a lot better – Bicycle Tutor – How to Overhaul a Threaded Headset. This is a terrific video, it makes everything simple and reminds you of all the things we non-mechanics forget.

But it is cold, dark and raining hard now – so checking the headset will have to wait another day. Instead I have been reviewing  headset adjustment videos on YouTube so I’ll be ready when the rain stops. I  have the wrenches and lube I need already. I got them last year.

BTW: Park recommends checking headset every 2 or 3 rides and greasing 2x per year

Here are a couple of YouTube Videos you might find useful:

Adjusting Threaded Headset

Adjusting AHead Headset

I’ll update you after I check out the headset. This time I’ll remember to disassemble the headset and lube the bearing before I do any adjustments.

Resources:

Park Threaded Headset Maintenance

Bicycling – How to Maintain your Headset

Wiki Books – Headset Overhaul

Bicycle Tutor – How to Overhaul a Threaded Headset – This is a terrific video – the best by far on this subject

Updated: 4/22/09

Written by Roland

April 21, 2009 at 10:17 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Follow up: Front End Wobble Fixed, Threaded Headset Maintenance – Front End Wobble […]

  2. […] a while at leastThreadless: Help Decide What Designs Are Out on the StreetsThreadlessUno Bike 121Threaded Headset Maintenance – Front End Wobble #content-body,x:-moz-any-link{float:left;margin-right:28px;}#content-body, x:-moz-any-link, […]


Leave a comment