eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

Hot Buy – Recumbent Bicycling Sandal – Update

with 3 comments

Merrell Rapid Rise SandalsThis is an update on my earlier sandal post.

I have found a sandal I like much better than the Columbia Sandal. It is the Merrell Rapid Pulse Sandal. This sandal cushions my feet better than the Columbia and has much more comfortable straps. It is also waterproof and made from synthetics like the Columbia but much better made. At the end of a long ride or a day of walking my feet much better in these sandals. The Columbias were a little abrasives in the foot pad and the straps too narrow for comfort.

They are on sale now at Sierra Trading Post for $24.95 (retail $60) but in very limited sizes. This is a great buy if they have your size.


They didn’t have my size so I ordered Merrell High Tide Scandals. Merrell High Tide SandalsThese sandals are very similar and a newer more available model. I’ll give you an update after I try them but they look very good. They are also on sale at Sierra Trading Post for $29.95 (retail $55) but with a much bigger range of sizes.

Note: I use PowerGrips not Clipless Pedals so these sandals do not accept cleats. See “Why I don’t use Clipless Pedals “.

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topic 

Written by Roland

June 29, 2006 at 7:39 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous

    June 29, 2006 at 8:24 am

  2. […] There is an updated version of this post at Riding Sandals Update. My favorite riding sandals are Columbia Surf Tide Sandals. They are waterproof, comfortable, and inexpensive. They also have a narrower profile that fits better in my PowerGrips. […]

  3. Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

    vicp

    January 14, 2009 at 9:14 pm


Leave a comment