eBent Recumbent Cycling

A Bent Look at Self Contained Touring

First Impressions – Eggbeater Clipless Pedals with Shimano MT20D Shoes

with 11 comments

sh-mt20d.gifpedcrk_egg_sl.jpg
Note: This is a continuation of my previous post Giving Clipless Another Chance. You may need to read that post for background details.

I still seem to have the flu so I kept my ride today short and that was a good thing. Here’s what I noticed today on my first ride with Crank Brothers Eggbeater Clipless Pedals and Shimano Shoes.


Pros:

1. Much more efficient feeling. I felt locked to the crank arms. This was a positive feeling.

2. Spinning seemed much improved. I could spin easier and faster than without clipless pedals.

3. I felt stronger on climbs.

4. Both the pedals and the shoes look very nicely made.

5. Exit felt positive and safe both with inward and outward turns of the foot.

6. The entry has a nice positive click in.

7. These pedals are a very significant improvement over the Shimano SPD pedals I have used and have a more positive entry and exit that the Time Clipless Pedals I used 8 years ago.

8. These Pedals look great on my bike.

Cons:

1. My average speed was a little slower than normal, even though I felt faster. This was just the first ride so there was a bit of adaptation going on.

2. I felt more pressure on my knees. This may have been from pulling harder but I suspect it was from being locked harder to the pedal. My foot was definitely more restrained ever with the clips et in the looser position with “15 degrees of freedom”. The Eggbeater Instructions says they will loosen up with use. I read that to mean that the clip will wear in a way that loosens the connection to the pedal and allows more foot movement.

3. The Shamino shores run very small. A 45 Birkenstock sandal is big on me. A 47 Shamino shoe is tight. I can’t even get my foot into a 45.

4. After just 10 miles my feet were very uncomfortable. They were not abraded. I have no blisters but there was just too much pressure on my feet where the clips connect to the shoe. I blame this on the shoe because I get the same feeling just walking around. There was no way I can’t believe that anyone would ride with this level of discomfort. Maybe the shoes need to break in? But I have come to expect good shoes to feel good from the start and these shoes definitely do not disperse the pressure from the clips well.

Well it was fun for a few miles and maybe if they had been more comfortable I would have been faster. I definitely felt faster and stronger but it didn’t show up on the clock.

I am hoping someone can suggest a more comfortable shoe. I am definitely looking for a different shoe.

The First Impression is a Tentative Positive on the Crank Brothers Eggbeater Pedals and a definite Negative on the Shimano MT-20D shoes.

This is the third time I have used Shimano shoes and the result has been the same each time, great looking and well made shoe but very uncomfortable. I can only speak for my Industrial Hobbit feet; you will have to judge for your self and let me know if your results are the same. I can’t beleive such a good looking and well made shoe hurts my feet. But maybe “Often Cranky” Old Fat Guys are not their target market.

See: 2nd Ride with Eggbeaters and Shimano Shoes for follow on

See Shoes and Pedals for more posts on this topic 

Written by Roland

September 10, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Posted in Pedals and Shoes

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] See First Impressions for the follow on to this post. […]

  2. Why not use cleated sandals?

    I use them with SPD single sided pedals, and find they work very well.

    James

    September 12, 2006 at 1:07 am

  3. […] Note: This part 3 of a series of posts. The previous post was “First Impressions – Eggbeater Clipless Pedals with Shimano MT20D Shoes“. […]

  4. James,

    I have tried Shimano and Lakes Sandals. See previous posts Shimano Scandals Unfortunately No (https://ebent.wordpress.com/2006/03/27/shimano-spd-sandals-unfortunately-no/) and Lake Sandals Also No (https://ebent.wordpress.com/2006/04/06/lake-sandals-also-no/).

    Those are the only sandals with clips I have been able to buy so far. I ordered a set advertised by Nashbar but they never really had them in my size.

    For me Recumbent Cycling is about comfort. If I am not comfortable, I am not having fun.

    But I am not surprised that I am having trouble finding comfortable bicycling sandals and shoes. Comfortable shoes and sandals have always been an issue for me. That is why when I do find a comfortable pair I write it up on this site. I can’t be the only person with hard to fit Industrial Hobbit feet.

    Enjoy The Ride … Roland

    Roland

    September 12, 2006 at 7:47 am

  5. Hi Roland,

    After many years of using toeclips, I have finally decided to try clipless. With size 14 1/2 feet, I was always concerned about finding shoes. I am now using the SIDI Bullet 2 MTB shoe (http://www.sidiusa.com/). After about three months’ use (120 mile a week average), I’m quite happy. SIDI seems to have a good selection of sizes.

    Longfellow

    Anonymous

    September 12, 2006 at 10:16 am

  6. Longfellow

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    A couple of questions on those shoes if you don’t mind:

    1. How does size run? I usually use a 12/47.
    2. How is the toe box? I need a deep toe box, that is one of the problems with the Shimanos.
    3. When they say mesh, they mean breathing holes in the leather, right?
    4. What keeps the bracket that the cleat attaches to from pressing against your foot? The Shimanos have a very thin cover that doesn’t seem to be very effective for me.

    Roland

    September 12, 2006 at 10:38 am

  7. Roland,

    1. Size is hard to generalize because every manufacturer seems to have their own idiosynchrasies. There are small 47s and large 47s. For example, I (being a size 14 1/2 U.S.) can wear a 49 in one product but I need a 50 in another.

    Here is a link to SIDI’s sizing chart: http://www.sidiusa.com/contents/en-us/SIDIShoeSizer.pdf
    It is printable and you can check your foot size on it. They have the widths in there as well.

    2. My feet are long and narrow. I’m not sure if the toe box would be considered deep, but mine fit very nicely all the way around the toes with no pinching or abrading.

    3. The MTB shoes are made of LORICA, a microfiber made by DuPont that closely resembles leather. It doesn’t stretch and is highly breathable. Not everyone likes this charateristic especially in the late autumn or early spring. (I like the airiness. I would prefer a sandal in the summer but I can’t get them in my size.) Apparently the SIDIs will not smell after many years’ use, and can be washed with water and soap. I think most others are using this material now as well.

    4. I haven’t taken it apart so I can’t say. There is a removable insole and I suppose you could always find a thicker one. I haven’t had a problem with any kind of foot pain or numbness where the cleats attach.

    Here is what others have said about SIDI shoes:

    http://mtbr.com/reviews/Shoes/product_22967.shtml

    I hope this helps.

    Your website focusing on recumbent touring as it does, is always informative and I look forward to each new installment. I hope you will have more observations about your Northwest Tour and the Slipstream soon.

    In the meantime, I hope you have successfully fought off that bug.

    All the best,

    Longfellow

    Longfellow

    September 12, 2006 at 1:57 pm

  8. Roland,

    1. Manufacturers all seem to have their own idiosynchrasies when it comes to shoe sizing. Wearing a size 14 1/2 U.S., I can wear a 49 from one manufacturer but it has to be a 50 from another.

    Here is SIDI’s sizing chart including widths. You can print it out and try it:

    Click to access SIDIShoeSizer.pdf

    2. I have long and narrow feet. I’m not sure whether the toe box would be considered deep or not, but the show fits well around my toes with no pinching or abrading.

    3. The shoes are made of LORICA, a DuPont microfiber that looks and feels like leather. It is very breathable which not everyone likes especially in the late fall or early spring. I like it. In the summer I would prefer sandals but I can’t get them in my size. The LORICA material apparently will not hold smells over time and can be easily cleaned. It will also not stretch. I think most manufacturers are now using this material. There is a breathable mesh material around the ankles, as small side panels and small over the toe panels.

    4. The shoe has a very stiff sole and I have not had any problems with foot pain or numbness in the area where the cleats attach to the shoe. It comes with a thin insole which you could always change for a thicker one.

    Here is a site that has peoples’ opinions of the shoe:
    http://mtbr.com/reviews/Shoes/product_22967.shtml

    Your website focusing on recumbent touring as it does is always informative and I look forward to each installment. I hope you will have more on your Northwest Tour and the Slipstream.

    In the meantime, I hope you have successfully beaten that bug.

    All the best,

    Longfellow

    Longfellow

    September 12, 2006 at 2:27 pm

  9. Longfellow

    Thanks a lot. I looked at the Sidi site but didn’t find the sizing chart. The chart helps a lot. I like the look of the Bullet 2 but I am not sure about toe box size. I may just order a pair from a company that is good with returns and try them.

    As I expected my foot is narrow but I require a deep toe box. Bike shop guys claim Shimano is widest of standards except the Sidi Megas.

    Looks like I have to find take a trip to somewhere that has more bike shoe options and keep trying shoes on until I find one that is comfortable.

    Roland

    September 12, 2006 at 4:57 pm

  10. Longfellow

    Thanks for the good words about this site.

    I am working on a series of posts about the Historic Columbia River Bike Trail. This may someday be the Best Bike Trail in the US.

    What would you like to hear about the Slipstream? I can always use some suggestions.

    Enjoy The Ride …. Roland

    Roland

    September 12, 2006 at 5:00 pm

  11. A number of top brands like Adidas, Shimano and Nike provide the best of shoes. Construction of spinning bicycle shoes and athletic shoes is different.

    Cabeza De Pichon Rojo

    February 14, 2012 at 6:30 am


Leave a comment